We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection, pure bliss”
Review of South View Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South View Lodges
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection, pure bliss”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in January 2014, our 3rd stay and just have to keep going back to convince ourselves it's as good as we remember
Perfect hosts, who know just how visible to be, helpful and knowledgeable
The lodges are superb, extremely well equipped and high spec
Hot tub and log burner add just that little bit extra to the experience.
This time spent an amazing couple of hours in the hot tub watching the wild life
And so so peaceful,
Bliss

Room Tip: Try the forest walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southviewlodges, Owner at South View Lodges, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and were glad that you enjoyed yet another fantastic time at Southview lodges, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!

Kind regards

Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury UK
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Two friends and I arrived on a dark, damp, Friday evening to be met by Jill, who welcomed us with delicious cup cakes into a wonderfully warm Willow Lodge. She showed us around the very comfortable, well equipped lodge, lit the log burner and demonstrated the hot tub. She was friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and attractions, gave us the information we needed and then left us to totally relax.

It was lovely to have breakfast on the decking (what a rare opportunity at the end of January) to watch the rabbits play, hear the birds sing and see the fishermen have a good day on the lakes from our great vantage points - the deck and the hot tub!

The beds are very comfortable as is the seating in the lounge and, as we were there purely to chill for the weekend, we greatly appreciated this, as well as blue ray DVD player and flat screen TV; used in between sessions in the tub. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay, the freezer great for the ice cubes and the dishwasher perfect for the lazy time we wanted. Logs were in plentiful supply for the burner and everything is decorated in peaceful, calming colours that only enhance the feeling of peace you feel as soon as you park the car. Mobile phone signals are limited because of the location but, for us, this was an added bonus; we wanted to be away from everyday hassles. Andrew, equally hospital, checked the hot tub daily and told us that if we were happy, he was happy.

We had a great weekend and this is an ideal location if you want to couple some quality, peaceful time with exploration of a beautiful part of Devon. Exeter with its cathedral and shopping, Torquay for the beach, Plymouth for its history and Dartmoor are all within easy driving distances.

This is not the first lodge break that one of my companions and I have spent together however Willow Lodge is the best that we have stayed in by far, so much so that we have all decided that Willow Lodge will become an annual event for us therefore, as soon as we have decided on the date for 2015, we will contact Jill and Andrew to make the booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkladywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at South View lodges for our honeymoon. The lodges are really beautiful, very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The hot tub and wood burning stove were both excellent. As others have mentioned, Jill and Andrew are very welcoming and hospitable and happy to give tips about things to do and places to eat in the area. The lodge was really quiet and peaceful, just what we needed after a busy wedding! We are looking forward to returning for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizzyLizzy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent lodges , beautiful lakes and Jill and Andrew made us feel very welcome . If you enjoy fishing you have two private pegs to each lodge on which there are plenty of silvers and a few carp to fish for . As for the other two lakes due to the very hot weather with all the carp basking on the top , I can only describe as looking on top of a ants nest . No doubt we will be back again . I'd recommend to any one

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from one weeks holiday at South View Lodges. As all the other reviews say this really is a perfect place to unwind with all amenities to hand and the opportunity to take our little dog too! My husband caught many fish and we both enjoyed the luxury of the hot tub and relaxed atmosphere having the lake right on our doorstep. Our relatives have commented that they have not seen us look to well in ages on returning from a holiday it really has done us the world of good as soon chilled and peacefull - it is a little sun trap also and we would love to return again. Thank you to Jill and Andrew who were delightfull owners and made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great lodge. Great hosts. Jill couldn't be more helpful, dog-proofing our lodge for our little fur baby. Lodge was well furnished and decorated with taste. The hot tub was amazing...thoroughly relaxing time. Highly recommended. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney-and-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's rare to find something so simple done with attention to detail and quality. Lovely, peaceful location, in the depths of freezing temperatures a log burner to die for and hot tub to relax in! Extremely well appointed lodge, bit of fishing on my doorstep, great pubs and restaurants everywhere and very hospitable hosts. Thoroughly recommend, the owners have done themselves proud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
507 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,070 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nobody Inn
The Nobody Inn
#6 of 69 in Exeter
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View Lodges

Property: South View Lodges
Address: South View Farm | Shillingford St George, Exeter EX2 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Self Catering Holiday Lodges Set Beside 3 Lakes. The Lodges Are Brand New For 2010 And Have All The Modern Facilities Inside You Would Expect From A High Class Establishment. Log Burners, Hot Tubs, 50in Wall Mounted Tvs, Dishwashers, Washer Dryers, Ensuite Wet Room, Main Bathroom. As Lovely In Winter As Summer. A Real Home From Home Treat With Lots Of Added Extras To Make It Extra Special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South View Lodges Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing