We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park View
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Parkview in Exeter. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood with an easy 15 min walk into the city center or a 10-15 min walk to St David's Station. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Delicious and plentiful breakfast. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Would gladly stay here again the next chance we have to visit Exeter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
36
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at Park View hotel for 5 nights prior to moving into my dorm at University of Exeter. Lovely room with view out front of hotel toward Bury Meadow park, lots of sunlight. Ensuite bathroom was nicely separated from rest of room. Wi-fi issues throughout my stay. Wall to neighboring room was very thin, as I could hear everything the people in that room said; this was a problem, as they seemed fond of conversation and television at 1:00am! Didn't complain to proprietors, as there wasn't much to be done about it. Not a huge deal, anyway. Very easy access to town center by a quick walk across the park and onto Queen St. Good location for both town and University. Breakfasts were lovely. Overall a nice stay and I would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I chose this B&B because of the good reviews. While the staff were friendly, and the hotel was clean, there were a few serious issues:
- the ensuite bathroom was freshly painted and the room not aired out. It was too rainy and cold to open the windows at night, and I had to sleep in the fumes, waking the next morning with a severe headache and all my clothes smelled of paint.
- the shower could only be either scalding hot or freezing cold - the in between setting did not work. When I mentioned this to the staff, they seemed not surprised, and not too worried about my complaint. I had to splash water from the shower on me to get clean, and ended up burning my scalp and hands.
- the breakfast was OK, but the porridge tasted as though there was also painting done in the cupboard where it was stored (a chemical taste)

Room Tip: I would not recommend going to this B&B.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not difficult to find - I recommend to use sat nav or google
Parking space limited but ok (4 spaces at B&B plus metred on street parking)
Nice clean B&B - excellent breakfast, great location close to town centre
Quiet area - beds comfy
Friendly owners

Room Tip: good place to stay ... family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Comfortable bed, good value and a proper breakfast. Close enough to walk to/from Exeter St Davids rail station but nonetheless is in a quiet location. I was happy to get somewhere that does the basics right for a good price. Oh and free wifi, which is good considering how many big chain hotels ask an extra 10 quid for wifi even in a more expensive room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HamishPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This b&b has friendly owners, very clean and quiet location. Just between a five and minute walk to the city centre, go down Elm Grove Road, come out at the Clock Tower and walk along past the museum.

It's set in a townhouse in an upmarket residential area and has the benefit of parking for six cars. Very comfortable stay and a lovely breakfast in the morning. You ask at reception for the hairdryer.

I chose this b&b as it is competitively priced but central as I was there for a weekend. It is one of the few hotels in that price range that offers parking and is off a main road.

I was very pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: If you're on the first floor, there's a selection of books to read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carols9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent value and location for the centre or university. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. I went for a single room without a bathroom to save money, but the room had a sink and tea-making facilities and the shared bathroom was lovely, large and clean. Breakfast was good and the staff were accommodating regarding my dietary requests, despite me making my booking at late notice. I'd definitely recommend Park View.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#22 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#3 of 75 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodbine Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View

Property: Park View
Address: 8 Howell Road, Exeter EX4 4LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed & breakfast, in a Grade II listed Georgian building,noted for its peace and quiet, overlooking BuryMeadow Park. 5 mins walk to Exeter city centre,University, bus and train stations. All rooms have TV,tea & coffee, most en-suite. Free breakfastis taken in a bright dining room overlookingthe garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing