We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper castle”
Review of Powderham Castle

Powderham Castle
Ranked #4 of 119 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Powderham Castle is the family home of the 18th Earl & Countess of Devon. It was originally built by Sir Philip Courtenay in 1391 and despite undergoing many transformations since surviving the ravages of the civil war in the 17th century, it has remained in the same family. Entertaining guided tours bring the fascinating history to life, you will find them engaging whatever your age. Discover secret doors, stunning architecture and even a haunted landing. We would advise you to allow at least 3 hours for your visit so you can take time to explore the many acres of gardens and grounds. The Walled Garden is home to our friendly Powderham pets, including Tessa the tortoise and Harry the donkey, and is a safe haven for our little visitors. Relax in the peaceful surroundings, from the beautiful Rose Garden, overlooking the deer park and Exe estuary to the Woodland Garden, with its stunning collection of trees. For the keener walker the breathtaking views from the foot of the Belvedere tower are very rewarding - you can see for miles and feel on top of the world! Before you leave visit the Powderham Country Store. Here you will find Toby Buckland's wonderful plant shop, the Powderham General Trading Co with its range of gifts, clothes and home furnishings and a fantastic food hall, bakery and butcher.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A proper castle”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a lived in castle home to Earl of Devon who is still in residence so you can not go everywhere. Do not let that put you off. Well looked after and we spent a lovely four hours wondering round the grounds and enjoying a puppet shop on " Kings and Queens".
There is a cafe but we did not use it.
Nice walk down to the walled garden and we could have gone further. Little disappointed with "The Forge" Would have liked to been able to see something going on, but it is and does work.
Well worth a visit and do stop and look round the shop at the exit a\nd we did use the cafe there rather than the one at the castle itself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOULDOLDOUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    197
    41
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant family day out!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

3 generations visited today. We all thought it was a great day. My 5 year old did get a little bored at points in the tour, but the secret doors, toy room and an active attempt from John our guide to involve all the youngsters there was well received. Actually all the staff there gave brilliant customer service. The food was good. The gift shop had things in it to suit all budgets. The animal corner was very interactive (great castle/fort for the under 11s). Over all it was a lovely day out! You also get a free return visit, which would be fab if we didn't live miles away. Would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Something Here for Everybody”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were just out for a drive in the area and decided to visit on the spur of the moment. We had a guided tour of the castle (you have to do this) and this was really well presented by Dave the guide. It took over an hour and we learned a lot about the castel, teh family and the local area.
The tour does involve steps and a lot of standing around.
Lots of other things to do on site for those a bit fitter than us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConstantChange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Day out for the whole family”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a lovely day here whilst on holiday in Devon. The tour around the castle took about one hour. Our guide, Dave, was very funny and aimed a lot of the tour at the children in the party asking them to find the secret doors in each room. The additional tour around the grounds and deer park was well worth doing although disappointingly, the commentary wasn't available (the CD was stuck in the player). You can take a picnic as tables are available but there is also a charming restaurant with light lunches and sandwiches to buy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank anncole8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good for history nuts, teenage kids got bored”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you love history then the castle is lovely, if we had gone without the older teenagers it would have been a better day out, perhaps if you have teenagers interested in history then it would also be okay

PROS - FREE parking
- nice grounds to have a picnic in
- exploring the castle is good fun

CONS - not much to do here
- expensive food
- not really wheelchair or buggy friendly as lots of stairs and steep hills

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powderham Castle also viewed

 

Been to Powderham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing