We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "little gem" in Devon, just lovely.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Park Cottages
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The cottages are extremely clean and kitchen fully equip for self catering. Our daughters loved the play area set in the centre of the green outside the cottages, really safe to be able to sit outside your cottage and watch them play with new friends they make. 15 min drive one way to sandy beach of Exmouth, or 15 min opposite way to Sidmouth with its quaint shops/cafés to go wandering round.

We go off exploring all over from this base, lots to do for all ages, donkey sanctuary, crealy, Exeter for shopping. We even went over to River Cottage in Axminster for "Hugh's breakfast"

Cannot recommend enough staying here, we've been several times and keep going back for more!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnalou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review; we really do appreciate it.

We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here at Alpine Park Cottages and the surrounding area.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Park Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned back from a fantastic 2 weeks again with our dog. We have a special needs son who comes with us and he loves his stay at Alpine cottages.
Sally and Curtis are wonderful hosts they both are very helpful. This is our 2nd visit and already look on Alpine Cottages as our second home, the cottages are clean and well maintained everything you would need, Huge fluffy towels for the bathroom and even the kitchen tea-towels, kitchen roll and toilet roll, dishwasher and tablets even wash up liquid, all you will need is your suitcase. We visited some wonderful places easy reach in the car Sidmouth, Lyme Regis,Exmouth, River Cruise on the river Ex in Exmouth Fab very relaxing, Seaton ride on the tram little café at the end of ride people very helpful took our dog inside the café, Budleigh Salterton lovely village,all with the dog. Greendale Farm shop just up the road for all your fresh goods Fish/Sausages,meat, Bacon etc and even a fresh cooked takeaway "Fish and Chips" when we arrived that is what we did best Fish and Chips l have ever tasted. We would recommend to all with familys of just couples who want a good base and somewhere to relax. Highly recommended. Sally, Curtis, and Family have a wonderful Christmas and New year see you all next year cannot wait XX

Room Tip: Alpine Park Cottages relaxing place to stay and wonderful hosts, give it a go you will not look back...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review; we really do appreciate it and it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

We are so pleased that Alpine Park feels like a second home to you, your family and of course Chloe too!

Here at Alpine we are lucky to be near some wonderful attractions such as Stuart Line Cruises and Seaton Tramway, as well as the Take Away Fish and Chips from Greendale Farm Shop, which are delicious!

We look forward to seeing you all again in 2014 (Merry Christmas to you all too!)

Warm Regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely one week break with our dog and I can honestly say the cottage was the perfect location. The Mynards were wonderful hosts and the cottage was so clean & well maintained, everything we needed was supplied already (we loved the huge fluffy towels!). We visited some wonderful places, all within easy reach in the car, personal favourites were Sidmouth, Exeter, Lyme Regis & Torquay. A wonderful holiday, thank you. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elli76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We do appreciate the time you have taken to write this lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Alpine Park; especially our fluffy towels!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful week at Alpine at the beginning of August. We love it here. The owners are wonderful, very friendly and helpful and it has become a home from home for us.

The cottages are excellently furnished, grounds immaculate with fantastic safe play area. The owners very tolerant of children of all ages (even our now, loud fourteen year old, who was only 7 when we first visited)

We would recommend to all with familys of just couples who want a good base. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Firstly it's hard to believe you and your family have been staying with us every year since 2007. Where does the time go? Secondly we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stays at Alpine Park over the years and that we continue to meet your expectations.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in 2014.

Best wishes

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week-long stay at the Alpine Park Cottages.

The cottages themselves are all extremely attractive to look at, and there is a green in the middle of the site with play equipment for children, and a big box of outdoor toys and games for them to use, which I thought was a great idea. Our three children (aged 14, 8 and 4) all enjoyed playing outside and making friends with children from other cottages. When we went out during the day they couldn't wait to get back so that they could all play out. I felt that it was a safe area for them to play in, even for my 4 year old, and because the play area is so central it is easy to sit in your cottage, or outside your cottage, and keep an eye on your children without having to watch over them like a hawk. There is also a crazy golf course on site, and my children really enjoyed playing on it. I think it was the highlight of my 4 year old's week and he has talked about the 'clown crazy golf' ever since!!

We were extremely impressed with the accommodation; we had a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom cottage and it was lovely. It was extremely clean throughout, and nicely furnished. The kitchen equipment was all in good working order and there was lots of crockery, pots, pans, utensils, etc, which meant that it was easy to cook and prepare meals. There was a tv in the living area and also one in each bedroom, which with 5 of us all wanting to watch different things all the time was perfect!

There are lots of good attractions within easy access of the site; we went into Exeter a couple of times, and also to Babbacombe model village, and to Sidmouth, amongst other places.

All in all we really enjoyed our week and hope to visit again at some point!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_Wood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review on here; we really do appreciate it,

We were pleased hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Alpine as well as the surrounding area. It is lovely to see all the children playing outside on the green and making new friends; we are glad your son enjoyed playing crazy golf - watch out Tiger Woods!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

3rd year we have stayed here & the standards are still extremely high. Very friendly owners always happy to help! Very tolerant of 4 year old children who want to help them out all the time!! Would highly recommend a holiday here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyd2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a 'excellent' review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay.

Secondly; it was lovely to see you all again this year and we have certainly missed our little helper since he went home!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Others have listed a number of the positives and it is fair to note what has been said, it looks just like the photos.

Very clean, well furnushed, lovely calm grounds with space in middle for children to play safely.
Owners very pleasant and welcoming. Fully equipped lodges which are roomy.

It shows you that Tripadvisor can work as we booked it following reading reports on here.

Location is great for a number of areas North/South or East/West. If Exeter airport is needed only about 5 - 10 mins away. Exeter and M5 again about 5 mins. Sidmouth or Lyme Regis a short drive.

You have easy access to large Tescos or a couple of very well stocked farm shops. Can also recommend the White Horse pub just 3 mins down road toward Exeter. Local Chinese not so good (only poor meal of the holiday)

So we had a lovely holiday with nothing to complain about, thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review; like yourselves we are finding more and more guests are using Trip Advisor to decide where to holiday.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alpine Park and hope that you may return in the future.

Best Wishes.

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.5 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Woodbury Salterton
636 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,105 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Park Cottages

Address: Exmouth Road | Nr Aylesbeare, Exeter EX5 2LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Park Cottages is a complex of 11 self catering 'lodge style' brick built holiday cottages set in 5 acres of lightly wooded parkland on the edge of an area of outstanding natural beauty. Situated around delightful grounds with a children's play area, each holiday cottage combines a stylish look with centrally heated comfort to ensure a snug stay, whatever the weather! Ideally located close to city, coast & country. Exeter, Sidmouth & Exmouth are all a 7 mile drive away. Owned and run by the Mynard Family, you are guaranteed of warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Park Cottages Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing