We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day at the races”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Day at the races”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a day at newton Abbott races and stayed at the premier inn Exeter for the night. It is right outside Exeter station so very convenient. Check in was quick as usual by touch screen computers. Great room, comfy beds. There was a bar but it was closed up by 11.30pm which was a shame as it was a Saturday night and we all wanted a quiet drink in the bar. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    353
    104
    22
    14
See reviews for
298
299
100
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Due to a big misunderstanding on our part we expected a car park - none available as parking is in Station car park as per website. However to calm the situation and smooth a furrowed brow the Manager and Receptionist by excellent customer service gave us a complimentary breakfast. Our stay was comfortable, breakfast good and location for our visit perfect. Highly recommended and Staff a credit to themselves and Premier Inns

Geof & Jill H

Room Tip: Top floor room - we faced the main road/station but with the window closed any noise did not disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeofandJillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our first stay at Premier Inn, St David's, Exeter, was for three nights from 22 July, and the last night of our two week holiday to Devon on 4 August. We paid £257.50 for three nights including breakfastand £57.50 for our last night, also including breakfast.

The family room we had, was clean, spacious, with storage space for some clothes. The bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast was quite good for a buffet breakfast ( I prefer my Ful English to be cooked fresh and served to me ), with a good choice of teas and teapots - no teabag in a cup nonsense.

Staff from all departments of the hotel were helpful, and one particular example of helpfulness sticks out. My eldest daughter accidently dropped her t-shirt out of the window to an inaccessible bit of on man's land betweeen two parts of the hotel. The staff managed to retrieve it for her, when we returned for our final night on Sunday 4 August. The bed and pillows were most comfortable,ensuring a great night's sleep, apparantly, they have a good night's sleep guaruntee.

I would definately recommend Premier Inn St Davids for anyone wishing to stay in Exeter on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salisbury67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay .Great family room , comfortable beds , air conditioning , very clean, even body/hair wash supplied and lovely clean towels. Breakfast was really good , plenty of choice and really good quality. Very quite and we all had a good nights sleep . Only negative thing is there is not a customer car park , although there is plenty of parking you do have to pay . The hotel say that there is free parking available from 6pm till 9am across the road , but the spaces are very few and we had to pay £5 to park overnight . Also we were up and out by 9am as the car park that offers this parking dose not allow parking from 9am -6pm. So then you would have to move the car and pay additional parking fee's.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The name of this hotel is confusing - it's not central, and it's not by Exeter Central train station either. It's opposite Exeter St. David's train station which is perfect for a car-free visit, and it's a 10-minute uphill walk to the proper centre of Exeter. Otherwise standard Premier Inn facilities and rooms, we had good service and the breakfast spread was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing remarkable about this hotel so I'm not sure why I enjoyed staying here so much. It must be the staff and management. They had a great attitude and were extremely friendly! The breakfast was fantastic, the bed extremely comfortable and the room spot less.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Termabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Premier Inn Exeter is what you would expect of a standard Premier Inn and all standards were upheld.

A word to the wise is avoid dinner in the restaurant. Speed and service was not brilliant - it took 80 minutes for 3 courses and staff were forgetful. Breakfast was much better, yet still had some issues.

Reception team were excellent and room cleanliness was second to none.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing