We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, child friendly and excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here (again) for the weekend with my husband and 2 kids whilst visiting family. This hotel is brilliant for a break away, the rooms are exceptionally clean and tidy the staff are polite and nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast is a must freshly cooked hot items and lovely selection of cold items too. Overall everything you could need for a stay away from home

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry_rianon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had booked four rooms for myself and friends to stay over a weekend. On arrival we were an hour early and asked could we leave our bags with them as we intended to go shopping. After asking the booking name, by a unfriendly receptionist she then said one room is checked in, to which we all said no we are here now we have travelled together. She looked confused and said no one room is checked in, I then explained again no we are all here now. After a long pause she looked through a list and said oh someone is in your room, so my friend suggested ok, find out who and we can have their room? She said i don't know who, so i asked how can you not know - they let you check in by quoting a name only?? i cannot believe this policy.

Anyway we must of been at the desk for about half an hour at this point, we ended up asking what they planned to do, she seemed unsure I didnt here her apologise once. I then asked can we squeeze another bed in any of the 3 rooms, she agreed so we carried on with check in and left still unsure what has happened, I also explained that i would expect a refund for the room we werent having anymore.

on return to the premier inn that day i asked at reception has this been sorted and was informed yes i had been refunded the full room rate, still no apology or explanation!!

Very annoyed at this poor level of service

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liswaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Only a one night stay for work and Ive not stayed at a Premier Inn before. It was very good for a low cost chain hotel I hav to say! The staff were excellent. Very professional and friendly. Everythin in the place was clean and worked perfectly. Obviosuly it's not the Ritz but you're not paying for that. Breakfast was a bit average but otherwise very good all round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and I were on what our American cousins would call a road trip of Devon and Cornwall from London and we decided to break the journey at Exeter thinking to leave early the next day.

To be honest, was not over enamoured about these type of hotels (I guess competing chains in this bracket are Premier, Travelodge and Best Western, but hey, I'm no marketing fundi!) as we had a less than enjoyable experience at Travelodge Croydon at the start of our trip.

So we turned up unannounced at Exeter St Davids courtesy of HM constabulary who said they had heard good things about it and we could do a few things whilst camped here, and that we should park at the car park just the other side of the railway station (much cheaper).

There was a warm welcome and the room was large, clean, and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Which at the price we secured was extremely good value. The pricing model that most of these chain hotels use seems to now be to price according to demand so perhaps we caught it on a low demand day. Not sure, but suited our purposes anyway!

There is an excellent gastro-pub just ten minutes walk which is sited on a weir so on a nice sunny afternoon is pleasant but equally, for the squally overcast evening we had, was very cozy to sit inside and gorge!

Because of the comfort and welcome at the Premier Inn St Davids, we ended up staying two extra nights and taking the lovely scenic train trip down to Teignmouth and Dawlish. Highly recommend this place. Only niggling thing we found was that the breakfast area was rather cramped for the size of the hotel so we ended up eating outside but again, to give the benefit of doubt, maybe we were here on a busy day?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

after having a busy holiday at devon cliffs with whole family,we decided to stay a night at premier inn in exeter.what a good choice.rail station opposite where we dropped grandchildren.bus every 15 minutes.the hotel was lovely.the meal deal was fantastic 3 course meal with a drink,and full english.kylie and her staff were were really welcomeing makin our night perfect.on the downside there is no car park with the hotel.no great problem as there is a public car park opposite on our next vist to exeter it will definately premier inn st davids

Room Tip: we had both front and back rooms found them both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercadona234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

To sum this Premier Inn up in very short time I would have to recommend this place! Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, staff cant be any more helpful! The only thing that lets this place down is the size of the restaurant attached! It is too small to accomodate everybody for breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you would like the comfort of a 4 star hotel, but at very reasonable rates, then this hotel is for you. We stayed for 8 nights, as we were were visiting family in the area over the October half term break. The service we received from the friendly and helpful staff was superior to that we have encountered in far more expensive hotels in the UK and Europe.
The restaurant is excellent, with a varied menu and great service from the staff at Breakfast and Dinner. The rooms, in fact, the whole hotel had just been refurbished to a high standard, which again gave it the feel of a much more expensive hotel.
The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the city centre, but taxis are available across the road at the station.
We would not hesitate to reccommend it most highly

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,852 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing