We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of The HH Restaurant - CLOSED

The HH Restaurant
Price range: $23 - $78
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what can be said sbout this place that doesn't involve a ridiculous number of superlatives. It is quite simply perfect. We have tried it in the evening, for their lower priced lunch and at weekends but no matter what we have or when we go we are always thrilled with the experience.
The food is of such quality that it rivals any of the Michelin star restaurants we have tried while the service and knowledge of the waiting staff is second to none. If you go for the full menu and pay the money it is totally worth it while if you go for lunch you get the same quality for a cheap price (get in there quickly as pretty soon they will realise their mistake :) the full menu is gorgeous and adventurous

Put simply you must try it. Whether it is a romantic date, a meal with friends or a work get together you simply won't be disappointed. Well done HH you are outstanding x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Poofords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    34
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Rate”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit & we opted for the lunch menu....Risotto to start & Lamb shank for main....delicious & superb value for money. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had dinner at HH Restaurant recently.
Easy to find with parking for about 6 cars.

We were the first to arrive and was greeted with a very warm welcome, by the very friendly young waitress.
Taken to have a pre-drink while choosing our meals.

The place is nicely decorated...... It was a Friday night and there were 2 other couples dining, the ambiance was just ok.......
The locally sourced food was beautifully presented.
We selected from the A'la carte menu and the the homemade bread was just perfect.
We enjoyed our meals.
The fillet of beef was cooked the way I liked it...but found the flavors a bit too subtle for me....my date loved the poached ark chicken.
The dessert was the best part of the meal for me.
At no time did we feel rushed.

I cant wait to be back to try there lunch menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A wonderful find. Truly delightful staff. Delicious food, beautifully presented. The place to go for a special occasion meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent - and priced accordingly.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The HH is a place to go for a special meal. Nice sourroundings, outstanding service and a wide choice of excellent food... I really can't find anything negative to say.

Of course, All this comes at a price - Dont expect much change from £100 for dinner for two, even if you are careful. We stuck to the 'Simply Fine' menu (3 courses for £30) and I only drank one diet coke and water and my husband had a glass of wine and water, and we still managed to spend almost £90 by the time I added 10% gratuity... worth every penny though, faultless.

You must have the coffee & petit fours at the end of your meal if you have any room in your tummy - those home made chocolates are absolutely devine. ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The HH Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing