We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Venezia

Venezia
Ranked #204 of 518 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Filled with Venetian romance and Mediterranean spirit, Bar Venezia sits on the tranquil quayside, next to the River Exe. The extensive menu not only offers Italian classics, but also Portuguese, Spanish, French and Greek delicacies, which are perfect to enjoy with river views on the ample al fresco seating. The Mediterranean buzz kicks up a gear with the regular dance classes and club nights, making it a true slice of the continent.
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here after it was recommended to us whilst on holiday, food was brilliant, most delicious pizza I've ever had (surf & turf!), great prices, great service, friendly service and a warm welcome.
Also, a lovely setting.
Excellent- wish it was closer to home!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    23
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I popped in to this bar for a drink after a walk along the Exeter canal and was more than happy: they have tables outside to sit and drink your beer while admiring the view of the river on one side and the canal basin on the other. It's nothing fancy, but to me had the feel of a proper Italian bar - it reminded me of ones I have been to in Italy, with its tidy but fairly spartan interior and friendly welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Managment problems”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to the Bar Today Bank Holiday Monday = we ordered a starter Nachos and three mains, they brought it all together, when we explained that we wanted the Nachos as a starter as we had ordered, then the three mains to follow. they reverted to Italian saying they did not understand, shame on you, the manager came and said there had been communication breakdown. We asked for our money back and for the Nachos to be removed === No can do you ordered them?? Yes as a starter not as a main as instructed....no response....not going back. 5 disgruntled people with friend who no double will pass the word.....restaurant manners out of 10 === -10

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonSueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very nice pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I see there are some mixed reviews for this place, but our experience was good. The lady behind the bar taking the orders was a little off-hand and curt, but for well under £20 we had two 12" pizzas and two half-pint juice drinks. And the pizzas were good, clearly cooked from scratch. You don't need to be in a hurry, and our pizzas took nearly half an hour to arrive -- at a time when the bar didn't look that busy. Goodness knows what happens if there is a crowd in. But it was mid-week lunchtime, so maybe there was less staff. The setting beside the river is really nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's such a shame that this restaurant isn't looked after. The tables outside are falling apart and often the lawn is left full of empty glasses, rubbish, cutlery from the night before.

This place could do with a cash injection and new owners to look after the place properly and serve a decent menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaysidelovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venezia also viewed

 

Been to Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing