We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Recently visited the White Hart at Exeter and found the location to be excellent. Parking was easy in the pay and display car park directly behind the hotel.
The receptionist was helpful and pleasant and the instructions clear.
The room was of a decent size and the bed comfortable with a reasonable pillow.
Only negative was the lack of hand wash and shower gel in the bottles.
We stayed in the hotel for evening meal and with the extra 20% discount, it was brilliant value.
Breakfast was good.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1HTC-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    367
    103
    28
    38
See reviews for
113
402
69
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money and an excellent location. It ticks all the boxes if your looking for clean good value hotel.
Ok so the beds are not big but your not paying big money.
You get a decent sized double room which is clean,with a good sized bathroom.Excellent shower. Full English breakfast (reduction on food if you eat at the hotel) and attached to the hotel to the rear is a pay and display carpark which is free if your staying at the hotel on the day of arrival. And all the next day even after you check out.
And its three mins walk from the city centre and five mins walk from the quayside,even with a limp.(which I don't have by the way!) So if you want flashy chrome handles and urban contemporary blah blah and want to pay 200 quid for a night then that's your call. But if your having a night out and a days shopping then this is the place.
So there you go, what's not to like?

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the newer part of the building with modernised rooms. I cant speak for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is our second visit and was even better than the first. They have replaced all the flat pillows so now you get a good night's sleep. Good still very good and a 20% discount when you stay in the hotel. In the middle of Exeter so a very easy walk to the Cathedral and shops. Large bathroom and great shower.

Room Tip: Good coaching inn hotel with lots of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaYaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location of the White Hart could not be better - a couple of minutes walk from the high st and Cathedral square and maybe 5 minutes from the quayside. The hotel also has a free car park which is very handy in a City Centre like this. The Hotel itself is a strange enigma a very old black and white inn next to the 60s style room block.

The public rooms and corridors of the hotel have a slightly tired look so we were not expecting much when we got to the room but we were wrong. The rooms have been recently done and were very nice and bathrooms also. One criticism 4ft 6inch beds is not suitable for a double room these days. We were told that all the rooms have beds this same size.

This is a bit silly as the rooms were quite an acceptable size and could very easily take a 5ft or larger bed.

All in all it was a very good value stay in a perfect location for Exeter and if you want to cuddle up you will love it.

Room Tip: Book a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the White Hart last weekend and really enjoyed my stay there. We booked a double room with breakfast for £59.95 (Late Rooms was more expensive so we booked direct instead). Our room was in the extension, and was very spacious, clean and newly decorated. Bathroom was also very spacious, clean and modern with a brilliant shower. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and took advantage of the free drink offer plus 20% off our food as we were guests in the hotel. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and plenty of places to sit, our food took a while to arrive as it was busy but we didn't mind as it was delicious and at a bargain price. Breakfast is served in a small-ish dining room on the 1st floor and we were lucky to get a table - the staff were quite slow to take our orders as it was again busy but the food was nice. My partner had a full English which was cooked to order, and I had continental. It would have been nice to have more of a selection of fresh fruit and at times things had run out (cups, bread for toasts etc) but otherwise this was fine. My only negative comment would be that the matress on the bed felt a bit thin and cheap, but otherwise it was great and I'll definitely be staying again. The free parking was also a big bonus!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

it depends whats your looking for with hotels the white hart is no frills but perfectly comfortable nothing great but ok.
We made a one night stay in march on the way to penzance . This is probably the cheapest meal I have ever had 3 courses for two £ 22 , once again nothing flash but perfectly good meal at unbelievable price , beyond value for money.Overall perfectly acceptable place to stay with no frills , would go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Room and food excellent and good value for money. Residents get 20% off there food order, massive portions of good quality pub grub. Staff friendly, helpful and appear well trained in customer service. Lovely, charming, 'old style' with just the right amount of modern!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFraserRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing