We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all round!”
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful all round!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we stayed here for a friend's wedding and had a great time from start to finish! i booked the hotel pretty last minute and realised after booking that the check in time was half an hour later than the time we were supposed to be at the wedding! i phoned the hotel and asked if we could check in early and they said it would be no problem.

we arrived even earlier than expected but the lady on reception accommodated us and was really friendly! we had trouble getting a taxi to get to the wedding as ther was a football game on and again the hotel staff rallied round and called every firm in exeter to get us a cab. we arrived back from the wedding to a really comfortable bed, it was quiet and peaceful and we slept really well.
The room was basic enough but well decorated, spotlessly clean and had everything you needed - the shower was amazing and everything worked!

Breakfast next day was lovely too, with locally sourced bacon and sausages and plenty of fruit, yoghurts and cereal to choose from - the restaurant even had a beautiful view of immaculate grounds which was a gorgeous setting for breakfast! Check out was a breeze and every member of staff we came accross was friendly and pleasant and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable

Don't be put off by the cheap prices or location - it's a wonderful hotel with brilliant staff!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the little cottage that is seperate from the main hotel - the room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezabel_and_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    143
    73
    29
    40
See reviews for
102
143
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Seven of us from grandchildren to grandmother went to the Gipsy Hill for Mother's Day Lunch and we could not have asked for anything to be more perfect - it was fantastic. The set menu was exceptional value with something for everyone. The portions were so generous on all three courses and it made it even better value with coffee and tea with mints in the price as well. We could not believe the size of the dishes of vegetables and potatoes (two types) that came with the main courses everyone had more than enough. The vegetarian option of butternut squash and spinach tart was lovely and again a very generous size. The two waitresses were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and could not do enough to help - it was good old fashioned polite, helpful and courteous service. We fully recommend it as a venue for family Sunday Lunch for all ages. The toilets were spotless with lovely tissues, soaps and handcreams.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have used this hotel before for business and feel it is headed downhill fast also not that cheap for a single traveller
No wireless in the room I was in despite asking. not able to work.
Menu had been altered from that displayed in room and waitress said it had been changed that day. However same thing had been said on my last visit which I thought odd
Dessert inedible and returned to reception as no one around the bar I was stunned no reduction offered
A bit more effort needed especially in the bar/restaurant
I will not use this hotel again

Room Tip: Not in annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toadqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Opinions of this hotel by previous reveiwers seem to vary widely, based partly on expectations of what a "hotel" should comprise and partly on the actual room that the guest was allocated.

My wife and I used this hotel for a one night, mid week stay and found it satisfactory at £69 for a double room. If you compare this with what you get at a privately run B&B in a town house, yes, it is less well maintained but with a £69 B&B you don't usually get a bar and a restaurant on the premises.

In our room (no. 18) the radiator wasn't working but staff quickly provided a free-standing one which solved the problem. As many people have commented, the hotel does need some refurbishment but if that work was ccarried out it would become a great deal posher and they'd need to charge a much higher room rate.

In our brief experience, the Gispy Hill Hotel scored well on courteous, helpful staff, a very good restaurant meal and a decent glass of wine (without having to drive), a comfy bed, plenty of hot water and an adequate breakfast with decent coffee.

I reckon that's pretty good for £69....!

Do a comparison on the value for money / convenience with any nationwide "Lodges" and "Inns" (of the Travel and Premiere variety) and it still does very well.

Room Tip: Room 18 is spacious but has one single glazed window which doesn't help in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

One night for a business meeting, massive room, old fashioned but solid furniture, comfortable bed, old fashioned carpets but probably quality; but poor bathroom, drafty windows and creaky floorboards, could be redecorated but this looks and feels like a family run venue with enthusiastic staff. It's not a modern major company led hotel and as such must be judged as such. The dinner was average, wine ok bar well stocked and breakfast satisfactory... yes would stay here again as it had a feel about it... in fact there was a murder mystery night running the evening i arrived and I cant think of a better venue for such an event!

Room Tip: I had room 5 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night when I attended a two day business meeting here.
The general impression I was left with was that it was tired .. the hotel and staff. Our meeting began at 9.00 but we were not able to check into our rooms until 2.00 which was fine as this was the official checking in time. However, it was disappointing that when we did check in, some people had to ask for the heating to be turned on as the rooms were so cold. Ensuring rooms are adequately heated in time for check in should be automatic.
The furnishings and design are very 1970's/80's which again, is fine, except that I don't think it's really been refurbished since then. My own room was OK but lights are environmentally friendly so you have to wait for some time before they actually light up the room. The bath (plastic), which was probably very stylish when originally fitted, was scratched at the bottom and the shower didn't work because the fitting was broken. These were not things which were insurmountable as I ignored the scratches and had a bath but it just seemed evidence that it just isn't being looked after. The water was hot .. no problems there.
There did not seem to be many staff but those that were available were responsive and friendly. I just think they were working under quite difficult circumstances.
The food was reasonable .. fairly straightforward but generally OK.
It seems a shame that it's becoming so run down because it's in an excellent location. Very close to Exeter but high up with beautiful views, quiet and lovely garden. The breakfast room overlooks the garden and we saw a fox running across the lawn, a squrrel busily drinking from the pond .. quite unusual so close to the town.
I would not use this hotel for a business meeting and although I might stay there for an odd overnight stay if I was visiting the Exeter area, I would not stay for longer. I think it could be lovely and it's in a brilliant position for business and leisure visitors but it desperately needs refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight. We were made very welcome despite arriving earlier than the checking in time. Our room was ready and the heating was on, and it stayed on all the time. Our small dog shared our comfortable room and we could walk her easily round the grounds and locally. The bar was well stocked and cosy. The dinner menu was varied and the food was lovely.
Breakfast was included in the tariff and was freshly prepared, hot and delicious.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candyrio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing