We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relic from the past with friendly service!”
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A relic from the past with friendly service!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Wow....this hotel had fantastically friendly staff, clean room, new bathroom- well except the ceiling ! A relic frm the 70's patterned carpets throughout, kitsch Christmas decorations which included a snowing tree with the snow collecting in an umbrella that the tree stood in! Welcome was lovely the lady in reception genuinely friendly, this you don't see often so I really want to stress how friendly and helpful the staff were. Our room was in the Coach house across fro the main building, to be brutally honest more council house looking... Room was cold when we arrived we called down and they over rode the central heating to come on earlier. The room was basically furished smallish double bed very comfortable tho, one step up from ikea small table and 2 chairs, wall mounted flat screen. One of the lamps was hanging off the wall by the bed. Bathroom nice big bath for a hotel! New white suite new tiled floor, very cold on the floor tho, infact whole bathroom cold, nowhere for toiletries just a tiny glass shelf, even my partner commented on the lack of space and for a guy with minimal stuff to comment it must be bad! Shame they didn't redecorate the bathroom ie new ceiling and painted wall especially around the new fittings !
Had a average meal, not a fan of sauces in packets when not at the service station!
We had booked a room for a training event, room only which meant no water! A bit cheeky if you ask me as we had 50 extra customers for the hotel who brought teas, coffee and around half brought lunch there too so a boost to their sales but still no tap water....
We hire rooms all over the country and have never been charged for the use of a screen, we brought our own projector too! When we commented on such they waived the charge this time!
More like a visit to an old aunts house with the benefit of free. Wifi thoughout the hotel which meant I could work and watch my sky go on iPad in the evening! Would I return? Not willinginly but not avoid at all costs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    139
    71
    29
    40
See reviews for
101
139
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Gipsy Hill Hotel for one night as it was close to a party that we were attending.

The welcome was good, and the staff excellent.

The accommodation could do with some attention - especially as the roof leaked into the bathroom.

Breakfast was good, and the staff did what they could with regard to the leak.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 if it's been raining, as the shower that you get, might not be the one that you ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a wonderful place to have a family party, we had a 2 course Sunday lunch and had the use of the room for as long as we wanted it. The staff were great, food was good and we all had a great time from mum who was 80 to the youngest 6 years. Thank you to all the staff we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coedpoeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I enjoyed an overnight stay on business. The Hotel is a little dated but very comfortable and the room I was allocated had a very large double bed and was fully equiped including modern wide screen TV and free wi fi. Food was good as was the breakfast buffet.
Service was very good and I'd certainly consider staying there again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed here on overnight visits many times before and always had a relaxing time.

Our en- suite room this time was very large with a bay window and a side window, good quality mahogany furniture and bed, with 2 easy chairs and a table in the bay window overlooking lovely tended gardens.

There is a pleasant and spacious lounge and bar, with sensible prices for drinks, Dinner menu had a reasonable choice of bar food style meals at pub prices, with a specials board for extra choice.

The Breakfast was hot buffet style with choice of fruit juice and cereals yogurts etc, with tea and toast served at the table.

Service from the staff was once again friendly and attentive during our stay.

A great hotel in our view offering good value for money, situated five minutes off the M5 set within beautiful gardens, with ample parking spaces at the front of the hotel, some of the decor in parts of the hotel may be a little dated but all was clean and tidy.

No problems with wi-fi worked perfectly.

In our opinion this hotel still represents good value for the price charged.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravellers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there last night with my daughter - we were lucky enough to get an early check in as my partner was ill....the staff were so helpful with accommodating this.
We went for a family room and it was a lovely size - the beds were soooo comfy and the bathroom totally adequate.
We had our evening meal there and I can honestly say I enjoyed every single bite (as did my daughter, unfortunately partner was still ill, but I was happy to finish his steak off!!)....and the spiced bread and butter pudding was absolutely beatuiful!!
Breakfast didn't disappoint either!!

All the staff were so friendly - I don't think I've stayed somewhere where ALL of them are so nice!!

We will DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piginawig1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is nowhere near the best in Exeter but then it doesnt have to be and my review is firmly based around the price point.
We paid £59 for a double/twin room including full english breakfast. That's getting towards a room only rate of £40 per night, at least half that of other Exeter hotels and its certainly better than the local Travelodge. Dont think its part of Best Western any more, but thats no loss.

The good points:
It's near the A30 and M5 junctions, only 10 minutes by car from the airport or 15 minutes to City centre.
It has plenty of free parking.
The staff are friendly
The beds and duvets are comfy and the plasmaTV is good quality.

The bad points:
Its been an Edwardian? building, extended (badly) again and again probably during the 1960's and 70's and has the look and feel of the TV series 'Crossroads Motel'. Couldnt get the music out of my head !!
Everything looks dated and tired, even the piped music was from another era.
Needs a complete makeover.

So, want a good, up to date hotel? Go elsewhere and pay the £80 - £120 room rate.
Want an OK hotel for basic B&B rates? The Gipsy Hill will do. Just put your tank top and flares on to step back in time...

Room Tip: Ask for any rooms or bathrooms that have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastyfaceCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing