We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely location.”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is the star without a doubt. The view of the Cathedral and green is stunning. Diners can choose from the restaurant or the Cafe Bar. I don't find the inside too inspiring. Reception is dull. Parking is a problem in that there is none. It's the local car parks and not near by. Having said that, on a lovely day, a table outside is very pleasant. Shame about the chairs though. For pity's sake, get some decent chairs, they are so uncomfortable. As a stop for afternoon tea, it was fairly good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear ‘Worldstar44’

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased you liked your visit with us, your comments have been noted. We are reviewing our ground floor areas at the moment with a view for the changes to take place in January 2015.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent location in town and right opposite the cathedral. The double room I was allocated for my 2 night stay was not the biggest I've stayed in and quite "tight", but afterall this is an old building and it was acceptable, clean and tidy. The breakfast was lovely. How nice to have it cooked to order rather than the standard corporate buffet style bland affairs. When I've stayed in Exeter before it often prices itself out of the market in comparison to its main competitors, but on this occasion it came up at a comparable price. if it does so again I'll seriously consider a return stay on one of my next visits to this wonderful city

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear ‘WillM149’

Thank you for your review. I’m really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay us, notably the breakfast that I quite agree with you, nothing beats a breakfast cooked to order.

Please do keep an eye on our website for special offers, we guarantee best rate available when booked direct.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

First visit to Exeter. Working there for 4 days. Really nice city centre. This hotel is situated in a prime position on the cathedral square, overlooking the cathedral obviously. No parking on site but can park outside to drop bags, check in etc. and then get directions to public car park a short distance away at a concessionary rate. All staff were very helpful and friendly, always wearing a smile! Rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped, although personally could do with a firmer mattress. Breakfast was superb, good choice and always cooked fresh. Didn't eat in for dinner as was with colleagues for a change to ventured out each night. Tavern next door was the perfect place to sit outside on a pleasant evening after a days working and sample the many and frequently changing real ales. This is connected to the hotel and you can charge food/drinks to your room. Staff in here also helpful and knowledgable on the ales they are serving. Helpful to try a taster before you order a pint.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear ‘Atters68’

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you liked our Tavern, we change the Ales regularly and always encourage our guests to try, I will pass on your comments to the Tavern Team who will be pleased to hear.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Firstly one of the best locations in Exeter adjacent to the cathedral. checkin was excellent and very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are a good size and the bed was comfortable. Hotel was very clean with good ammenities. Champagne bar is lovely. Only thing was street facing there was a little too much noise first thing in the morning but would stay there again

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank SW44London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear ‘SW44London’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay, we are so pleased you would highly recommend us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We only stayed for one night but were very impressed with everything in the hotel. The staff being excellent. Great location and very noise free. Would certainly recommend to anyone wanting a central location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear ‘Neil O’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent staff, wonderful location, superb atmosphere. Very highly recommended to others.
Beautiful restaurant. I can only thanks the General Manager and staff for their hospitality and for making this stay a very happy and memorable occasion. We will be back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altrac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear ‘Atrac007’

Thank you so much on behalf of the Brownsword family for your review. I’m so happy to hear such positive comments regarding my hard working team and will pass them.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel since 2006 and it's amazing, never ceases to impress me.
The rooms are all so unusual and quirky and the ones with a view over the cathedral yard are outstanding.

The reception staff (Bryony) and restaurant staff (Angela) make the place somewhere that makes you want to keep coming back...again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear ‘Shaun D’

Thank you your review, I’m so pleased you continue to stay with us, I will pass on your thanks to my team who very much appreciate the positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $118 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing