We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location / Small Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
LONDON
Level Contributor
339 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great Location / Small Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights and difficult to fault the location and service, but our 'desirable' room was a little small and rates (unless you are using an offer) a little high in comparison with other hotels in area. Food was good and the 'Early Bird' menu excellent value for money - again look out for package deals for best VFM).

Our room had a good view over the green and on to the Cathedral was clean and in the main had all you'd need for your stay (surprised that the quality of the tea in the rooms wasn't better, but only a personal / small gripe!).

The bathroom seemed to lack shelves to accommodate toiltetries, but again a small point.

Happily recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Room Tip: Look for best available with a view over green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    413
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
182
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had the Six course taster menu at Michael Caines restaurant. Everything from the lovely room overlooking the Cathederal to the Champagne bar for great cocktails. Not to mention the restaurant, what a menu! Having to go to Exeter regularly to visit family we have stayed at all the hotels. This is the best, no question. The staff excel compared to other hotels and the location is fantastic. We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jays-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I first stayed here a couple of years ago on business and was so impressed I wanted to come back to Exeter with my wife. Now she knows why I've been raving about it ever since! Rooms at Abode hotels are in 4 categories and whilst the basic ('Comfortable') rooms are better than in most hotels of a similar price it really is worth upgrading to one of the 'Desirable' or 'Enviable' rooms - they're wonderful! We had a huge room with an equally huge bed which had a bath behind it to the rear of the room and a walk in shower room that's as big as some hotel bedrooms. The beds are worth a review on their own: they're made by Vi-Spring and are probably the most comfortable beds in the world - certainly the best I've ever slept on and I love my comfort! Food is excellent, staff are charming and helpful, and it's in a peaceful location just opposite the cathedral and almost next door to a bookshop - what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Be prepared to upgrade - you get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our 1 year old, we had a good size room which was spotless clean, fab view of the cathedral. Bed was really comfortable. The staff were so helpful for our entire stay could not do enough for us, they were really polite and friendly. Hotel is very centrally located. Overall would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife took advantage of a £99 Spring deal which included dinner, bed & breakfast for the two of us. The room was fine; large enough with a big comfortable bed. The two course dinner was fantastic and we paid the supplement for an equally enjoyable pud.

We would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Receptionists couldn't find a standard room big enough for an 'extra' child's bed. . . so they upgraded us to a room with SPECTACULAR VIEWS of the cathedral. WOW! Everything was brill. 1 minute from great shopping centre. 10 mins walk to great riverside area. Had evening meal next to the river. Fab moules marinade. Good as in France. Wow!!! Few good independent cafes and bistros nearby. Unfortunalely, probably need to mention the sig number of homeless people sleeing rough on the city centre streets. Shame in such a lovely city.

Room Tip: View of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tentpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location is superb...........and that is really the only truly positive comment. Receptionists(and there were a few!) varied in their competence and thus much confusion.We booked a breakfast deal on arrival(free for kids) which waitress argued about at breakfast table. Embarrassing in the extreme.Went to see another receptionist to rectify situation who was more interested in who had registered us........... I was offered NO tea or coffee with my own breakfast in the melee that ensued. Room, was a good size, comfortable bed and clean, but shower room minute. View from window would be better, at an educated guess, from Wormwood Scrubs..............filthy pigeon droppings, old netting to keep out birds,and grim utility walls-just ghastly. Champagne bar very expensive, better to go into adjoining pub.Hotel just not the standard it purports to be ,heard mention of understaffing; maybe that is the problem. Very disappointed, very expensive.Won't go back despite visiting family, and staying in Exeter hotels, at least 6/7 times a year.

Room Tip: ASK what view is. Avoid 306 if hoping to enjoy delights of green and cathedral.Truly the worst view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Property: ABode Exeter
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy.. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing