We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Exeter
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$253
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
494
410
219
107
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
410
219
107
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barroyal clarencemichael cainesdesirable roomroom overlooking the cathedralroll top bathcathedral squarehuge bedlovely hotelbeautiful cathedralnight's sleepstayed here for one nightwardrobeuniversity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

For our 1st Wedding Anniversary we treated ourselves to 1 night stay.
Made the reservation over the phone, the receptionist was struggling and didn't get my name correctly.
Arriving at the hotel the check in was friendly and efficient.
We had a great room looking directly to the cathedral, very comfortable bed.
We had dinner in the restaurant. We chose from the a la carte menu as the tasting menu didn't seem interesting and didn't take our fancy.
Our waiter was great and very friendly, we had a great table just looking out to the cathedral.
The food was very good and tasty and a nice selection of wine. A very great dinner experience.
Next day breakfast was very disappointing. When entering the dining room, no staff was to be seen so we helped ourselves to the breakfast buffet. We were quickly stopped by we believe the manager and being asked for room number and told that we only can have either continental or cooked breakfast (working in hospitality myself it's very strange and unlike the norm)
We took the cooked breakfast, portion was very small and for paying 11.50 for a tiny bit of scrambled egg and smoked salmon just put on the plate is not good. Coffee was very bad, very watery and when asking for a stronger coffee got another one tasting the same. Staff in morning was very unfriendly and slow.
Would definitely come back for dinner, but not stay due to the terrible breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrianfrenchcombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here while visiting my girlfriend's family in Exeter. Great location on cathedral green. Stay got off to bad start when we were put in a stuffy room with faulty air conditioning. But upon mentioning this to reception they moved us to a nicer room at no extra cost. Very helpful, friendly staff, liked everything about this place, good value for money and just a short walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott7454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My son is at Exeter University and I often pop down to see him, usually on my own, this hotel is in a perfect location right on cathedral green and within easy walking distant of everything, just walk down an alley by the side of the hotel and you are in the main shopping street. The actual hotel building is ancient with slopping floors and misshapen doors which adds interest to the visit. The restaurant is first class and breakfast superb, staff are efficient and the rooms are very comfortable with excellent showers. I wouldn't use any other hotel in Exeter.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a first experience at an Abode hotel, hopefully not the last.
The Hotel needs a little lick of paint and a tidy in some areas but this did not detract from the stay, we had room 207, not the biggest but a perfect view of the cathedral , very comfy bed and a pretty good bathroom.
The staff were very polite , friendly and informative , almost to point of being over efficient in the case of the housekeeping wanting to clean at 8.30am!
He hotel is very old and this lends character , stairs are a bit cranky and he lift is the original !
The only negative is the breakfast, the food is fine, but the policy of charging a supplement if you mix menus is a bit petty , ie if you wanted fruit / cereals / yoghurt then something cooked you have to pay a supplement to use both menus . The better policy would be a lower charge for continental and an all inclusive higher charge for cooked. Many people, myself included would be familiar with just getting up to the buffet and starting with fruit etc and then consider something hot afterwards. It's minor but a little annoying.
Overall a great stay, see Michael Caines at Abode and bistro reviews separately.

Room Tip: Go for mid range and definitely ask for cathedral view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The wifi is free--if you can get to it. You have to sign in a million times. Your key doesn't work after one attempt. At the formal restaurant, the acclaimed cook tacks on 50 p for "Charity." At Mission Chinese Food in SF, they tell you up front that a certain amount of each plate will go toward the Food Bank---and while the diner may end up sharing the cost with the owners, it is all up front and you feel like the owners are chipping in or paying it all. Here, you give to the owner's charity. Take a lesson from the Mission Mr. Caines. You are really lucky you have a first-rate waiting crew, because they were the only reason I didn't throw a fit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews