We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay.”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed one night, on the special offer of dinner ( in the Care Bar & Grill) bed and breakfast £99 on website now for Autumn.
At this admittedly great price it was definately a good night away. Hotel and staff very pleasant. Room was a "comfortable" standard which was clean and fine, although bed extremely soft. There was some noise from bar downstairs but not bad enough to overly disturb us. Location of hotel beside the Cathedral was lovely. Food choice on the included cafe set dinner meal was very limited, but you could use your allowance (small) on the a la carte dinner menu if you wanted to.
Good hotel if you don't have car, nice and central, but the car park is some distance away, and very busy, also the indoor part locked overnight etc ,and when walking back to hotel at night, the streets had a few drunken crowds of teenagers, so not really ideal.
Mixed feelings on return, it depends on needs, would probably prefer closer parking, however obviously at this special rate it is worth a try if that is not important to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisychain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the ABode Exeter. I am delighted to read your satisfaction with both the property and value offered.

The carpark is a short distance away from the hotel as highlighted and this is not dissimilar to the other city centre properties but as a compensating factor the views of the Cathedral and most central city centre location far out way the short walk.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the property when next you are in Exeter.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    413
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
182
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Some parts of this hotel are terrific - the location opposite the cathedral, the general decor and particularly the staff. However, the downside of the location is having to park nearby and then walk to the hotel. Not a disaster, but all ok, once you figure out the Exeter ring road.
I stayed in room 101, which is up a steep set of stairs - the lift didn't work, through a curious clash of doors, on a narrow landing. The bathroom looks fine, but the sink is in an awkward corner making it challenging to use. The tv was a big let down as it was a small flat screen, linked via a digital box - not seen this in a hotel for 5 years!! Comfy enough bed but no view, so if you get given this room, I would ask if there is anything else.
Finally £13 for continental breakfast is outrageous!!! There are lots of cafes nearby, I used one of them.
In summary, if you get the right room, you could have a great stay. If you don't.......

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MB-S51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the ABode Exeter. I am delighted to inform you that we have just purchased brand new TV’s as well as a correcting the small touches in rooms i.e chipped paint on walls.

The hotel is unique in its layout; the lift is very safe and regularly serviced. We also offer an Oscar service (concierge) to assist in getting to and from your room. I trust this show our commitment to providing the premier hotel and service in Exeter.

Not many people are aware but the hotel itself dates back to the oldest in the UK so you can imagine the history in the venue. Rest assures the hotel has been refurbished in recent times.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the property when next you are in Exeter.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A noisy bunch of smokers at the door wasn't the best of welcomes, but the charming staff member of reception soon resolved any fears that this was going to be a less than peaceful stay by upgrading my room - an action I very much appreciated. The "enviable" room on the third floor was comfortable and suited me well, though I am not fond of the current trend to place the bath in the bedroom! Being by myself, it did mean I could bathe and listen to the TV, though ;-) I enjoyed a taste of Devon, thanks to the generous basket of goodies left for me, and loved the super-comfy Vi-Spring bed (also made in Devon, I think?) A good idea to promote local products in this way. The lovely view of the cathedral from my window (room 313) gave me a real sense of place, too.

As previous reviewers have noted, the building is old and creaky, the stairs are a little here and there though a great deal of thought has been put into the restoration. Even so, those relying on the lift could find it frustrating - the original door needs to be opened and closed every time and as soon as one person forgets, then the lift is out of action. The staff members cheerfully deal with this, running up and downstairs countless times to close it, but it's not as slick as could be.

The restaurant is first class and I regretted opting for the cafe/grill one evening when I missed the chance to enjoy the excellent food and service a second time.

Best thing about Abode Exeter is undoubtedly the staff, who delivered cheerful, friendly and professional service without exception. The location is pretty good too, as long as you are happy to run the gauntlet of a variety of street people and their dogs on the way to the car park. City centre locations have their ups and their downsides, sadly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Absolutely wonderful hotel with a most gracious and accommodating staff located in the close of the beautiful, historic Exeter Cathedral, providing an extraordinary window view. Facility is very well kept and in great shape. Bedroom and bathroom were spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable and very functional. The only drawback for the Royal Clarence is the lack of parking within 3 blocks of the hotel and absolutely no convenient way to load and unload luggage when traveling by car. Once you're there, however, it is nothing short of terrific, with many eating and shopping venues nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the ABode Exeter. I am delighted to read your satisfaction with both the property and value offered.
The carpark is a short distance away from the hotel as highlighted and this is not dissimilar to the other city centre properties but as a compensating factor the views of the Cathedral and most central city centre location far out way the short walk.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the property when next you are in Exeter.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Abode on business, so the money didn't come out of my pocket. If it had, though, I don't think I would have been too happy.

The hotel is a bit of a maze and not particularly accessible if you have any mobility issues. The floor is quite uneven, which is understandable bearing mind the age of the place, but when paired with wobbly banisters, it doesn't exactly fill you with confidence. The room itself was quite small, but fine for one. However, the layout of the bathroom - and in particular the sink - wasn't great. What should have been good points were flawed, like the steam-free mirror where the steam free bit was only accessible if you were at least 6ft tall. The bed was ridiculously soft, to the point you felt like it was folding round you when you sat on it. The TV was quite outdated and didn't work. When I rang reception, I was told to check that all the wires were connected. Not quite the response I was looking for. Someone did eventually come up (after my second call) and sorted it, but it wasn't quite the service I would expect from a hotel that is pitching itself at this level.

Would I stay here again? Not until they sort out their style over substance issues.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am glad to read you have stayed with us over a number of years and enjoy the hotel. I have recently joined the team at ABode exeter and have revisited all of the rooms to correct soft touches and ensure the building presents well. I am currently about 50% through this project and I am sure the small splashes of paint and minor repairs will give the rooms a fresh look.

I understand your frustration with the lift, while it is operational if not closed correctly it can be delayed. I will look into ways to better communicate this to guests going forward.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Exeter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights, the location is superb. We loved the place and the staff where very helpful and kind. Although the rooms has been recently refurbished, but we were some how disappointed with the layout and the design. For the price it charges, it could be much more efficient and nicer. The lift is a disaster, I like vintage stuff, but it should work efficiently!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has a superb situation but that is where it ends. Parking is in a multi storey car park a few streets away. The room was one of their 'desirable' ones but lacked the facilities promised -large bed, bath and shower and when I complained I was told that' the building adds unique characteristics to the size and shape of the room', whatever that might mean. The room was so small that there was hardly room for our luggage.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a good view but apparently this means that the other promised features need not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback on your recent stay, feedback like yours is very important in ensuring we are constantly evaluating our guest’s experiences and are used to help train the team to ensure our guest service is meeting the highest of expectations.

I acknowledge your feedback and have spoken with you personally.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the ABode Exeter when next you are in Devon.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Property: ABode Exeter
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy.. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing