We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights, the location is superb. We loved the place and the staff where very helpful and kind. Although the rooms has been recently refurbished, but we were some how disappointed with the layout and the design. For the price it charges, it could be much more efficient and nicer. The lift is a disaster, I like vintage stuff, but it should work efficiently!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has a superb situation but that is where it ends. Parking is in a multi storey car park a few streets away. The room was one of their 'desirable' ones but lacked the facilities promised -large bed, bath and shower and when I complained I was told that' the building adds unique characteristics to the size and shape of the room', whatever that might mean. The room was so small that there was hardly room for our luggage.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a good view but apparently this means that the other promised features need not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback on your recent stay, feedback like yours is very important in ensuring we are constantly evaluating our guest’s experiences and are used to help train the team to ensure our guest service is meeting the highest of expectations.

I acknowledge your feedback and have spoken with you personally.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the ABode Exeter when next you are in Devon.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We send the first part of our honeymoon at the abode Exeter because we love the canterbury one and we were not disappointed.

The same standard for the rooms but with a little more, the view over the cathedral. Like in Canterbury the hotel is well located and the staff was very friendly.

The main issue was that the parking is a bit far from the hotel but this is a definitive place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the ABode Exeter. The ABode concept of hotels are exciting and more than just a great bed, I am glad to read you enjoy the concept and encourage you to visit our sister properties in Manchester and Chester.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the ABode Exeter when next you are in Devon.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Abode is in a great location and the front rooms looking over the Cathedral yard are lovely. We have stayed in many of the rooms, including 108, which is the Suite on the 4th Floor. Obviously, one of the hazards of such a convenient spot is that there are inevitably noise issues. We have not been bothered by noise in the past, as we have stayed on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors and the double glazing affords good protection.
We have been staying there regularly since 2009 as our son was at Uni there. Now, our daughter is there so we are again looking for places to stay.
Our last visit was extremely disappointing. Despite being repeat guests, we were given room 106 - which must surely have received many, many complaints in the past due to excessive noise from The Tavern, directly below it. Additionally, this is obviously used as an interconnecting room and the door in between our room and next door was unable to keep out any noise. We could hear every word of their conversation as I am sure they could hear every word of ours! Not useful on a potentially romantic overnight stay! The Tavern remains open until 12.30/1.00am, so earplugs were essential.
Room fixtures were looking tired. Additionally, the TV was leaning at a sharp angle from it's bracket, the tap on the sink was very loose, the make-up mirror light was not working and the curtains were hanging off their rings at both ends. Also, the sheet didn't cover the mattress - there was a gap of a good 4 or 5 inches under the pillows. Pretty basic stuff, this - bedding really should fit the bed. Despite a half-hearted hope expressed by the lady on Reception that we would come back and give them another chance, there was no meaningful apology offered. There appears to be a lack of personal attention and professionalism about the place that wasn't the case before - I wonder whether perhaps the management has changed? Anyway, with the opening of the Southernhay House Hotel not far from the Abode, I think the latter will significantly need to raise its game to stay ahead in the luxury market.

Room Tip: Room rating only terrible for 106. Avoid at all costs. Also avoid any room not facing the front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaEastSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Abode is situated in the centre of Exeter right on the stunning Cathedral Yard, ideal for visiting and exploring Exeter. The hotel doesn't have a car park but you can stop outside to check in and drop off your luggage and there is a car park a short walking distance away. The rooms overlooking the Cathedral are worth booking for a beautiful view but ask for a quiet location in the hotel as it is a very old building some areas can be a bit noisy. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. I do feel however, that the rooms are a little overpriced but I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Book a quiet room overlooking the Cathedral if you'd like a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the ABode Exeter and look forward to welcoming you back to the ABode Exeter when next you are in Devon.

Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed 30th August having booked a meal for our joint birthday treat then deciding to stay as well. Checked in by a rather over the top receptionist who gave us a disabled room which in itself was O.K. but if I had been a disabled person shown that room I would have been VERY disappointed. The room was dark and dingy with a dark and dingy wet room. The carpet was stained and filthy. The windows were grimy with the outsides covered in cobwebs with no view other than the ancient alley between the hotel and the pub next door. It did have a huge bed,however, which was nice. The receptionist was very "sniffy" when we asked to change rooms which was not because it was a disabled room but because it was smelly, grubby and with a wet room when we wanted a room with bath. They then gave us a more acceptable room overlooking the cathedral. The hand basin was really tiny and we swamped the toilet every time we washed. The shower screen over the bath was fixed which made it really awkward to get in and out of said bath and there was no means to wash hair other than a full shower!! The noise from the bar beneath was very loud but it did stop quite early.
The service in the bar and restaurant was very good - pleasant helpful people but price and portion size seem to be going in different directions. A lot of high star-rated restaurants do very good amuse-bouches, starters and desserts but the main courses have recently been rather disappointing.

Room Tip: Disabled 116 a disappointment. Room 107(a desirable room) is small with a tiny bathroom and a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback on your recent stay, I have just joined the team in recent days so if you would like to contact me and go through your feedback in greater detail I would be more than happy to discuss this with you and ensure you remain an advocate of ABode Exeter.

I hope to hear from you soon,
Regards,

Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel has a first class location over looking Exeter Cathedral. Breakfast on a sunday morning in a dining room looking out directly on to the cathedral is an amazing experience. However this wonderful hotel of the old establishment sadly suffers neglect, presumably do to lack of funds. The dining room needs an overhaul - a missed opportunity to become one the the best locations to dine in the UK! The bar lacks any ambience. there is a good grill with outside seating in cathedral close.

Bedrooms not easy to access due to badly installed fire walls/doors. I suspect the more expensive rooms are easier located, and probably with more space than the small double beds with no bath at £85.

Room Tip: Ensure easy access. Not sure the cheaper rooms are worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the ABode Exeter.
The hotel is unique and I acknowledge your feedback on navigating the property we do ensure we have an Oscar (concierge) on duty at all times to assist your bags and directions if required.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the ABode Exeter when next you are in Devon.

Regards,
Denny Keane
General Manager
ABode Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $112 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing