We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Positives:
Great location, a few minutes' walk from Exeter city centre.
Lobby and communal areas are very well-kept.
Good range of facilities.
Breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice - food was fresh.
Staff very pleasant and friendly.

Negatives:
Rooms are really in need of some TLC - dated and falling into disrepair.
Rooms are very dark.
Lack of plug sockets in the room.
Parking charge is £8 per night!!

The Southgate used to be one of Exeter's top hotels but whilst the lobby and communal areas have been updated, the rooms have not. If you need a hotel with good facilities, this is a good hotel. However, if you merely require a room that is clean, comfortable and well-equipped, there are other hotels that offer more modern, updates rooms for half the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat858P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon. The hotel is going through a process of refurbishment and as it stands more than half the hotel has been completed, with more work to be done this year.
Kind regards
Peter Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,882 - 1,888 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2010

I stay here quite regularly on business (about 2/3weeks a year).
The location is great (less than 5mins walk from Exeter cathedral & shops) and the hotel is nicely decorated inside the main bar / lobby areas for relaxing in. If you've a bedroom on floor 3 then it'll be quite nice and relatively new. If you're on the other floors then the rooms are a bit dated and feel like something from a dodgy version of Poirot. I also struggled to get any hot water on floor 1 during a recent stay of a week (yet my colleagues on floor 3 were fine!).
The restaurant has a good range for dinner albeit not the best value. The breakfast is hot & cold buffet (good!) but service is pretty varied (bad!).
There's also a small gym (3 runners, 3 bikes, 2 rowers, weights etc) plus a small pool and sauna - all open from 6.30am I believe (good if you want to get in before breakfast).
Other bits of info - parking is £8/night, internet is about £9 per 24hrs (and pretty slow), you get complimentary flapjacks and the staff will probably be more interested in asking you to join their rewards scheme than asking you how your stay was.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Lisbon
2
Reviewed December 23, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBumpBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great location, close to town centre with secure parking. Could not fault any aspect of our stay. The large, fluffy bath towels were a bonus. The best Mercure we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to The Mercure Exeter Southgate very soon. Kind regards, Peter Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Overall OK. Welcome a bit lacking. Restaurant dark so ate in bar where service was good. Hotel too hot. Good breakfast, ready at 7. Checkout confused! Good parking, but have to pay quite a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lope50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel very soon. Kind regards, Peter Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

My first visit to a Mecure Hotel for many years and a rather disappointing experience as I consider it to be a quality chain.
There is parking available at the hotel, however the hotel is not happy for your room rate and money spent on food and meals to cover this and £8 more was requested.
The hotel has a nice decor and feels warm and inviting when you walk in.
Check in was fine but rather functional rather than welcoming.
The bedroom was nice, good decor, nice bed and sheets, tea making and flat TV.
I had an evening meal at the hotel which did the trick but I would not describe is as a treat or great experieince.

Drinks in the bar where served by friendly and efficient staff.

The following morning was a disaster all round. Breakfast service was appaling. This involved a 15 min wait to be taken to a table, 10 mins wait for my order followed by another 10 mins after chasing the order. Then two breakfasts arrived, the second with a discusted look from the waitress as through it was the customer fault. After so much waiting most of my breakfast was taken with me to eat on the go, which is a real shame as the food looked nice if you have time to eat it.

Then check out. This again involved lots of waiting.

All in all, a nice hotel suffering with terrible service in parts and average quality meals.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthgateExe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2010

Apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I will look into this matter.
Kind regards
Peter Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $94 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing