We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a long trip from Yorkshire to the tip of Cornwall. Trawling the web seemed to reveal this hotel as one of the few (or only one?) that had parking on site and pretty much guaranteed parking too. You have to pay £10 for the parking but the security of knowing your holiday goods were safe and within view of your bedroom window makes it worth the money.

We were given a quiet room, as requested. Even tho a wedding party was underway we didn't hear anything even being only one floor above the party. Very professional friendly welcoming staff. We went for the privilege room given the good rates you can get on these on web comparison sites. I was surprised that the room wasn't bigger given it was meant to be a top end room but it was fine.

Didn't book breakfast, ate out in the cathedral yard for half the price of eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments regarding our car parking; you are correct, we are the only city centre property with ample on site, secure parking.
I am glad you enjoyed the privilege room, they are enhanced as they have large walk in showers, complimentary soft drinks mini bar, Nespresso coffee machines, gowns and slippers.
We are glad you plan to return and hope you take advantage of breakfast next time, there are always bed & breakfast inclusive rates available on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    784
    266
    95
    36
See reviews for
370
835
86
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent 2 nights here last weekend. Upon checking in there was some confusion with our booking, I thought I had booked a twin room and we were given a small double room. I was told that there was an option to tick when booking for twin room. I have since gone back and looked at the website and cannot see this. We arrived at 7 and eventually were in our room at 9'o clock. This said. Robert on reception went above the call of duty to see that we had a twin room despite the Hotel being fully booked. He allocated us a Privilege room and went and made the room up as a twin himself.He also gave us drink vouchers to make up for the wait.
THe room was fine if a little small but all the amenities were there. Shower was good and nice selection of toiletries.

Wi fi did not work unless you sat in reception area, this needs to be sorted out.

Parking - at £10 per night this is a bit much. I have never had to pay for parking before. On the Saturday night we could not even find a space so had to park away over the road in Council car park. If I visit the mercure again I would park here straight away as was free over night and just had to pay £2 up til 10am.

Bar meals - OK nothing to rave over and over priced as most bar meals in hotels are.

Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice.

Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Robert as mentioned above and Abby at reception recommended us a nice restaurant and made the booking for us.
All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Debs
Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry that your bedroom was not prepared as a twin as you had thought, causing you a delay on arrival; I was however very pleased to hear that Robert went out of his way to address the situation.
We have already attended to the Wifi problem, one of the routers had unfortunately tripped near your allocated bedroom.
We charge car parking seperately to the bedroom tariff as we like our customer to be able to compare our rates accurately with the other central hotel who are unable to offer this facility. I am sorry the car park was full when you arrived, this is most unusual as we have over 100 spaces.
I am glad despite a few 'hiccups' you enjoyed your stay and would return to us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We visited in late March 2014 during a trip to the Big Cake Show just outside Exeter. The upgrade to the privilege room was worthwhile and added a little bit of luxury, including free mini-bar drinks, nespresso machine, larger bed, sofa, dressing gown and slippers, as well as branded toiletries. It was an affordable upgrade to make, even for a young couple like us.

We didn't try the pool (will next time), but had both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and it was really exceptional - especially the duck parfait and the soup starters at dinner. The breakfast has a wide time - 7:30 to 11am I think - which is a real advantage to the hotel, especially for people who like a lie-on during a relaxing stay.

The only negatives were that it's a bit confusing in the dining room to know where you check-in, or if you even need to be ticked off. This could be more obvious or better communicated with a sign. Also, as part of our package a 'welcome gift' was stipulated to be included, which we never received. Nothing to spoil our trip, but it shouldn't be included in the benefits of an upgrade package if it's not provided.

Overall a lovely stay. The staff at reception are fantastically welcoming and warm, and we will return again soon. If you would like to read our Big Cake Show review, click through to our blog: http://bit.ly/1pDjswt

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iPadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay to visit 'The Cake Show', we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your privilege room and the food in the restaurant.
We will certainly note your comments regarding breakfast arrival procedures and add some explanatory signage for our guests.
Please accept our apologies that your welcome gift was not in the room on arrival. I have investigated the matter and it was accidentally placed in the adjacent bedroom by the room attendant - we are so sorry for this oversight.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel clean & tidy from our experience. Helpful & friendly staff. Nice long times for check in/out and breakfast. Great location only a short stroll from the cathedral & princess hay shopping. Will be back again, soon I hope :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 241cwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent ramily stay with us. We are so pleased to learn that the hotel and service met your expectations and you plan to return to visit us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed for one night with my husband we stayed in a privileged room. It was spotless we had a mini fridge free of charge and gowns and slippers. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic . Great stay the location was super.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your generous feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Exeter. The whole team are delighted to receive such positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Attended a training day and have to say apart from some of the timings for breaks, everything was great. The Danish pastries on arrival, biscuits mid morning, lunch was fabulous with lots of choice, and yet again some delicacies with afternoon tea, a great place for attending small group training days, can't comment on larger conferences but what we got encouraged us to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent training course at Mercure Exeter. I am delighted that the food and service made you want to return.
We hope to welcome you back, perhaps for pleasure soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing