We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend break,it was really easy to find boasting a fantastic central location near to all the shops. We found parking a bit of a problem as we arrived late afternoon+the majority of spaces were taken,we drove a few laps before finding a space. £20 was the cost for the two nights we planned to be parked there which in my opinion was v.steep after already paying much over £100per night,this really should be free for guests! We checked in smoothly+found our room to be of a decent size,v.clean with lots of local information available. Breakfast was of a good standard,offering buffet style fry-up+continental. As for the evening dining experience,the waitress was lovely but the chefs forgot our meals! This mishap meant we managed to watch everyone else around us order,eat and leave before us. We were given a soft drink as an apology whilst waiting longer. Nevertheless the food was enjoyable. Overall,it was a nice hotel,a little overpriced I feel but it's location really helps it desirability.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanSamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to learn you found the hotel's location ideal and enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry your dinner order was overlooked causing you a delay at dinner, I hope this did not detract from your enjoyment of your break too much.
We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    801
    273
    97
    36
See reviews for
379
863
88
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visted Exeter for a weekend over Easter & stayed at the Mercure. Very good hotel which is centrally loacted - 5 minutes form the shops & restaurants The hotel restaurant had a decent menu & was very reasonably priced (around £50 for two main courses, a bottle of wine & coffees). Bar was also pleasant (there is a large TV in the main area which was tuned to SKY Sports over the weekend). There is another area without TV. The room was a 'superior' which we booked on line a week or so before. It was tastefully decorated with a 'Nespresso' coffee maker, bar of chocolate & free soft drinks in the fridge. There was also a free safe, hairdryer etc. The hotel has a gym & pool. Parking was £10 a night but we knew this before we booked & felt it was worth it for the added security & convenience. Staff were friendly & we would certainly use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bioSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. we are so glad you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over Easter weekend- the hotel was very busy but service was still excellent. We had a standard room- love the super king beds and the fridge in the room- the only let down was the bathroom- very dated tiles and tiles in need of a deep clean- also the shower is fixed- nightmare when you have long hair to wash and you have to pretty much crouch in the shower.

Breakfast was very very busy and had to queue to use the toaster! They kept the cooked food topped up- really nice coffee too.

Location is fantastic- literally 3 mins walk to the cathedral shops and restaurants-

All in all a lovely weekend- great hotel service and location- would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodylover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review following your stay at Easter. I'm sorry if you found the bathroom in your room to be rather dated. We are currently undergoing a rolling programe of bedroom redesign which is almost complete so I am confident that this will be addressed.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Exeter.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Luxury break at very reasonable prices. We stayed in a privileged room which had a mini bar stocked daily and a Nespresso machine in the room. The pool and sauna were available from 7am until 9pm and a small but well equipped gym. The staff were very lovely. They are refurbishing the hotel rooms so there are a lot of workmen and a bit of building noise but not too bad. We were given a 2 for 1 voucher when we arrived for breakfast which we had delivered to the room it was very good and a large choice. The hotel is in a brilliant location for town, the cathedral and the quay. We will definitely being going back.

Room Tip: Opt for the privilege room, free news paper, mini bar, dressing gowns, slippers all restocked daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayseebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your recent stay; I'm glad to learn you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry if you experienced any disturbance whilst the bedrooms were being decorated. We will be completing this programme in a few days so I am sure future stays will not be affected. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Please improve the quality of the wine by the glass - the white wine was really nasty stuff!!! Did not eat there so cant comment on the food. Location is good and there is a car park which is a big plus. A good value hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lynne2660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review - I'm surprised to read your comments regarding the wine quality. We have a specific fine wine menu called 'Les Grand Vin' which showcases excellent wines at competitive prices by the bottle and the glass. I will make sure it is more prominently promoted going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back for a glass of Les Grand Vin soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed over the easter week-end and the hotel was fairly busy, but no problems checking in.All the staff where great,nothing to much trouble.Large clean room with walk in shower.Used the pool,jacuzzi and sauna,busy but still great.Good breakfast selection,but a bit on the steep price side at £15 per person(unless you can negotiate a better price).After the first night we asked at reception for softer pillows for the bed ,which they changed immediatly and was impressed that the receptionist had remembered our names and room number from the previous day.Close to the city centre/ cathedral.Excellant location, first class service.Definately stay again when visiting this part of the country.Parking on site a plus but at £10 a bit steep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericfreeman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon. We make a charge for our secure car parking in order to keep our bedroom rates as competitive as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Exeter soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break recently. Hotel is in a great central location, staff were very helpful and rooms were of a decent size. In general the hotel was very clean.
Swimming pool was quite small but nevertheless okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your recent review; I pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's location ideal for the city centre. I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
857 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing