We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Hotel Exeter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mercure Hotel Exeter”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Mercure Hotel, Exeter. Lovely rooms, great service and good facilities in the leisure suite for fitness and swimming. The location is superb for visiting Exeter as the centre of the city is a short walk away fast pace 5 mins, casual stroll 10mins max. Would certainly recommend staying at this Hotel. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    810
    276
    98
    36
See reviews for
381
871
89
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Having spent the best part of 2 months living in this hotel this year, I feel very well qualified to review this hotel. And pleasingly, it's very good! Whilst it is part of a large chain, the lobby area seems pleasingly unique, and though the rest of the hotel is fairly standard, the rooms are a good size, and very neat. The service was always prompt and polite, and the food in the restaurant (and for breakfast) was really quite more-ish.

The location is excellent, right in the city centre, and located just off one of the smartest streets in the town. It is very quiet though, considering where it is. And the Cathedral is just around the corner.

If I had to point out its faults, they would be that the pool is FAR to warm (it's like trying to swim in a bath!), sometimes the service is almost too polite, verging on the aloof, though I imagine this is the management striving for perfection. Breakfast seems a little military almost! And the drinks are vastly overpriced. But there's plenty of other places to go nearby, so all of these foibles are easily forgiven.

Overall, this is a very good hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On entering the hotel you are greeted by a lovely open fire and friendly reception staff. Room was upgraded to a priviledge so had a free bar of chocolate (woohoo!). Ok sized room - nothing special but clean and warm and a huge bed. Only a shower in the bathroom but it was powerful and big and anyway, who ever uses a bath in a hotel? Considering showers use less water than baths this hotel gets brownie points for helping the environment. We used the swimming pool which was nice and warm with a jacuzzi and sauna there too if the swimming gets too much. Didn't use the gym but it looked well equipped. Breakfast was great - tons of choice at the buffet plus you could have things specially cooked too. Parking is charged at £10 which is a bit of a cheek. You are only a 3 minute stroll to the cathedral and from there only yards from all the shops you need (Exeter has had a massive refurb and now has a great plaza area with all the main brands and lots of cafes and eateries). Overall a good choice for the exeter experience and good value for money considering the location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure the extra for a priviledge room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was on a course and was put in this hotel for 5 days. It has a great location, settled just behind the cathedral in Exeter, so it's very central. The interior of the hotel is very modern, however im not a lover of dark colours in hotels, especially black ! the corridors do seem very dark, as do the rooms. However, the hotel is very clean, and i liked the breakfast room and the breakfast here is good. Its not a hotel that wow'd me but no really complaints.

Room Tip: rooms above reception can be noisy with people chattering whilst smoking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljbManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night for a relaxing getaway. We had a premium or premier room (can't remember exactly what they called it) which was very nice with a very comfy large bed, robes, slippers, toiletries and complimentary bar of chocolate and soft drinks in the minibar.
Our room was on the 3rd floor (top floor) and at the end of the corridor which although it was a bit of a trek meant that it was nice and quiet, even though we had seen there was a wedding going on that day. The best thing about this hotel is the location, once we parked the car we didn't use it again until it was time to leave, the city centre and shopping district were a short walk away as were the cathedral and lots of restaurants. As for the sound of the bells that some reviewers have mentioned, we were on the opposite side of the building to the cathedral so could only faintly hear them, certainly not an issue. Only downside was the lack of a bath considering we'd paid for the top kind of room, but the shower was a nice shower. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Premium room on top floor, end of corridor on side of building facing street not cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Mercure and we were not disappointed. Following a mix up with our booking we found ourselves in a Privilege Room and the standard was high. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Other members of our family were also staying in the hotel and we were able to sit and chat comfortably in the lounge without feeling in the way.
We also used the swimming pool which was clean and well kept.
If we need a hotel in Exeter again we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
875 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing