We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night for a relaxing getaway. We had a premium or premier room (can't remember exactly what they called it) which was very nice with a very comfy large bed, robes, slippers, toiletries and complimentary bar of chocolate and soft drinks in the minibar.
Our room was on the 3rd floor (top floor) and at the end of the corridor which although it was a bit of a trek meant that it was nice and quiet, even though we had seen there was a wedding going on that day. The best thing about this hotel is the location, once we parked the car we didn't use it again until it was time to leave, the city centre and shopping district were a short walk away as were the cathedral and lots of restaurants. As for the sound of the bells that some reviewers have mentioned, we were on the opposite side of the building to the cathedral so could only faintly hear them, certainly not an issue. Only downside was the lack of a bath considering we'd paid for the top kind of room, but the shower was a nice shower. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Premium room on top floor, end of corridor on side of building facing street not cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickiJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Mercure and we were not disappointed. Following a mix up with our booking we found ourselves in a Privilege Room and the standard was high. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Other members of our family were also staying in the hotel and we were able to sit and chat comfortably in the lounge without feeling in the way.
We also used the swimming pool which was clean and well kept.
If we need a hotel in Exeter again we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, but just what you'd expect for the price. Not outstanding in any way. Nice room, good location, clean, etc etc.
Disliked the interior decoration in the breakfast room. Black is not a great colour to start to the day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wawagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oversetter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Mecure is a fabulous place to stay in Exeter. The rooms are luxurious and the bathrooms well stocked with goods.

The food is outstanding, breakfast a little too good; inducing extreme overeating (for 2 days in a row!!)

They have a secure car park and will deliver a paper each morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

While some of the evening menu choices rewarded the guests with generous helpings, other dishes were scant on the plate. For £17, I was given two nuggets of duck, one small potato and a splash of rhubarb. When I requested more vegetables the manager indicated that the menu stated 'potato' and not 'potatoes'. When I advised him that as a guest of the hotel (I paid over £300 for two nights) I deserved a square meal for supper, he offered me a free glass of mineral water! What a smart alec!
I was also surprised that the buffet breakfast was so run of the mill. Toast wasn't brought to the table and, when I asked for some, I was told to go and toast it myself.
The restaurant urgently needs to be upgraded, to match the quality of the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very relaxing hotel in the heart of the City of Exeter!
Stayed there a few times with my husband on shopping sprees in the City!
Lovely bar to retire to after a day's shopping for a glass of wine or in the evening a Port!
The decor in the bar area is fab! I wanted to take the zebra print wingback chair home with me in my bag!
The food is very good and served nicely in a pleasant setting.Breakfast even offers haddock which is unusual!
Rooms are stylish and modern with all amenities such as toiletries and tea/coffee making.
Returning in a couple of weeks to stay for a weekend of Christmas shopping....hope it's still lovely!

Room Tip: Higher up to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaterinaT37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing