We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, in a very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Thatch Inn

The Old Thatch Inn
Ranked #88 of 518 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, in a very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The pub is very conveniently located in the village of Cheriton Bishop just a two minute drive from the "Woodleigh junction" of the A30. The bar is well stocked with 5 or 6 real ales on tap, usually 4 at the bar and 2 in the cellar, and the menu is a nice selection of fish, meat and vegetarian options. The portion sizes are plentiful and the chef goes for flavour rather than dress as a priority, which I think is important in any good pub meal.

The price is very reasonable too, you'll get change from £30 per person for a three course meal and a couple of drinks at the bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    78
    15
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub with a nice menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We were leaving dartmoor and want some where for Sunday lunch - and found this place just off the a30 good location but unfortunately right on the main road. We went in a they were very welcoming - very simple decor and furniture.

Lovely ruby red roast beef and chorizo and beef burgers- simple but well cooked food.

Word of warning if you are there on a winters day- The pub was very cold as there is no heating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetdiner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No Food:(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited this pub Friday 15th Feb & Sat 16th Feb as we were staying at a B & B close by.
Unfortunately the kitchen was closed on both occasions. We were going to try again On Sunday 17th but the kitchen was not due to re-open until Tuesday 19th and we were home by then! The atmosphere at the bar was fine although I think we were the only trippers in town.
Prices a little steeper than home (£5.95 per glass (Large) of Red:(
May call on our next trip down south as previous food reviews are good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hope to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

How pleased I was to find this lovely old inn following some research. I stayed for a few nights in January in great comfort in a recently refurbished and equipped room which I understand was one of two available with bathroom en suite with bath and shower over. Breakfast was just as I wanted (I don't eat full Engligh) with juice, cereal, fruit, "proper toast" and a great selection of home-made jams and marmalade.......... plus oh joy, none of those silly little packets of butter and jam so fiddly to unwrap, and good coffee. Simon is a welcoming landlord and made me feel very much at home and the staff are friendly and efficient too. Food is excellent with ample choice at fair prices in a separate restaurant area or one can eat in the bar which is well patronised by the locals. If and when I'm back in the area, I would hope to stay again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelandtrek26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drive-by Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lost and hungry on the moors we found this place only a mile from the A30. Good selection of tasty local ales, modern Sunday lunch menu with good options, well cooked local meat (medium rare by default which was perfect for us so ask if you like it otherwise), well seasoned and good hearty portions. The starters and desserts looked very tempting but we were completely full. Would definitely recommend if you're nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch Inn also viewed

Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Old Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing