We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view”
Review of Matford Belvedere

Matford Belvedere
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matford Belvedere
Ranked #31 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Essex UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Made a stop for one night on way to Cornwall only wished it could have been longer. very warm welcome Tea on arrival very welcome after a long car ride sitting in the conseratory with its beautiful view was so relaxing. such a comfortable stay in lovely surroundings lovely home. (ate supper in local pub) English breakfast thank you for a great start to our holiday

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were stuck in Exeter for the night with nowhere to stay. I found this b&b on the internet and decided to give it a go as we had no other choice. Despite having receiving us at a very short notice (well, we just turned up on the drive) Francis was very welcoming. She served us tea in china cups with silver tableware. The only twin room had two comfortable beds, and tasteful antique furniture. The room has its own bathroom. In the morning Frances served us lovely full fry-up early enough so we could still comfortably catch the coach from Exeter. (the city is only 15 minutes dtive away). What a lovely stay for just £60 for two!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilia_fellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Made to feel very welcome by the truly charming lady owner. Only one bedroom, but absolutely spotless, very comfortable, with wonderful views to open countryside. Bathroom well equipped. Very good bar and restaurant facilities just minutes away. Breakfast exceptionally good. Stayed on my own this visit but can't wait to return with my wife. Will not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Only one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I found this B&B on Laterooms as it was near the convention I had to attend on the Saturday - I stayed there Saturday night as a lone traveller for one night. The place is located at the top of a hill giving amazing views over the valley below. The hostess is absolutely adorable - had a pot of tea made for me on my arrival with homemade biscuits which I drank in the conservatory admiring the considerable view. The room was very comfortable, tv and refreshments and the hostess kindly swapped my pillows as I am allergic to feathers! I ate dinner with my friends at the nearby Devon Hotel which does a lovely carvery. Breakfast was a full english, with cereal and grapefruit, juice and tea - and as a lovely surprise - a cadburys cream egg for me as it was easter sunday! Thank you so much - will look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Only one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here with my visiting Mother in their only room (a twin). The owner was lovely and the place is situated on a rolling hill giving spectacular country views. It's less than a 5 minute drive into the village where we had dinner at one of the pubs and enjoyed the local hospitality. Back at the B&B there's a comfortable sitting room and conservatory for relaxing after supper, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom was good too.
Breakfast was a full English with lighter options available and the owner will look after you very well, particularly as you're going to be the only guests there! Very, very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle-a-roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Really lovely place to stay not to far away from city centre, given tea and cake on arriving got to enjoy great view over countryside owner was very friendly and welcoming. Room was very nice bed comfortable, there was TV in the room and tea/coffee. Own bathroom to use as well. Breakfast in the morning options of fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazed1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Lovely stay. Homemade cake and tea on arrival. Made to feel very welcome. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
997 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Stowey Arms
The Stowey Arms
#2 of 2 in Exminster
76 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lower Thornton Farm
Lower Thornton Farm
#19 of 69 in Exeter
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matford Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matford Belvedere

Property: Matford Belvedere
Address: Matford Belvedere Deepway Lane, Exeter EX6 8BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Hotel Class:3 star — Matford Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Matford Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matford Belvedere Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing