We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find in Exeter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Travelled to Exeter with my family for a family party at Exeter City Football Club! We stayed on Saturday 15th Feb. The reception staff were friendly allocated our room efficiently and sorted out taxis for us during our stay. The double bedroom with ensuite shower room was spacious, comfortable, clean and tidy and we had free wifi in the room with good connection. The stay included breakfast and was very good value for the price. Had a good nights sleep was not disturb by any noise. Breakfast time was very busy, the food choices were good but had to wait a while for some food items to be stocked up but apart from that no complaints and would stay at this hotel again when we come back to Exeter to visit

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanBarnes047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here as a stop off towards Cornwall. Bought through late booking website. Very reasonable. Included buffet breakfast. Lovely shower. Best hotel bed I've slept in in ages. Just as you expect an average "big chain" room to be as they are all designed exactly the same. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanjulika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of the Holiday Inn Express, Exeter here on Tripadvisor.

It is great you chose our Hotel to accomodate your family when you visited the area. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Free Breakfast as well as having a great nights sleep.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again should you be coming to Exeter again.

Many thanks
Meghan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a really good stay here. We stayed on Saturday 8th for one night. We didn't here any noise from the motorway which was good!
The room was to a really good standard, we did get breakfast included but we slept in so didn't try it so can't comment on that!
The restruant across from the hotel is beautiful. I'd recommend going there during your stay!
The hotel was 5 minute drive from exeter centre. Overall I have no complaints!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Carrie R,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at our Hotel here in Exeter.

Our free buffet breakfast is available from 7am-11am on weekends, however I am pleased you enjoyed your nights sleep so much you did not want to get up! In future, we do offer the option to take your breakfast back to your bedroom if you choose.

We look forward to seeing you again at our Hotel!

Kind Regards
Meghan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here regularly and can honestly say its one of the best hotels I've stayed in at Exeter and use this one out of preference when ever I can.

Becky is always first class and her smile lifts the atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mph140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

It is great to receive personal feedback to one our team members on Tripadvisor, thank you so much for sharing this. I know Becky has seen this and is equally as proud. As a company we reward all of our team for going the extra mile for our guests.

Thank you for saying we are always your chosen hotel when you come to Exeter, we enjoy welcoming our guests to our Hotel again and again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Meghan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express Exeter for five nights and had multiple rooms for extended family. No complaints. The rooms are compact, but acceptable for two persons. The bathroom was (probably) one of the cleanest I've stayed in anywhere - a credit to the room staff. Bed was comfortable and the room generally quiet. The only drawback to this standard of hotel (motel really) is that they don't provide in-room fridge. We needed to make many trips back and forward to the ice machine in the lobby. On the positive side, as the restaurant is only used for breakfast, the hotel allows guests to bring back food purchased outside for consumption at dinner in the restaurant using the hotels cutlery and chinaware - this is a brilliant service and my group enjoyed a couple of fish and chip dinners with the helpful staff attending to the washing-up!!! The breakfast provided is set around an efficient self-serve area and is perfectly adequate. Plenty of car parking available. There's a pub adjacent for a more formal meal if required. About a five minute drive away, there's a Tesco supermarket open 24 hours. We also found a self service laundry along the main road into Exeter (opposite petrol station). All in all a happy stay without problems.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel_Inspector_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here whilst visiting Westpoint for the Craft4Crafters event. The hotel was clean, quiet and just the right temperature. The breakfast was great, the staff helpful and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to return if I'm in that area again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank fonenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you found our popular location suited your travel requirements, as we are one of closest and most direct Hotels to the Westpoint Arena.

It is great that you found our team helpful and friendly and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good clean hotel.staff nice and friendly. Breakfast good variety too. Ideal to park car at the hotel carpark and use park and ride to city centre which is right opposite .this only takes about 20 minutes and they are every ten minutes.The Barn Owl restaurant is right next door too.this is good for a drink in the evening.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,788 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $71 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing