We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August for 1 night, and its absolutely excellent, you get what you pay for! Really good value, great staff. The rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable and quiet at night, although if you have children, they'll have to sleep in the same bed together since the children's bed is a double bed.. Breakfast in the morning was OK, quite a lot to choose from, although was set out a bit strange. I also recommend going to The Barn Owl for dinner which is next to the hotel and is fantastic. Overall good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherriecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    479
    160
    27
    13
See reviews for
255
337
59
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would be suprised if you were dissapointed with your stay here as rooms are usually around £60 - £70. I stay here often as a club member and rooms are always spot on, clean, tidy and modern. Breakfast is okay for what you pay and it is hot! good selection of tea, coffee etc. I have never had a problem with any staff member they are very friendly and helpful. Good location for airport and not to far from Exeter centre which is well worth going shopping in.

Room Tip: Do not think it matters all rooms I have stayed in have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving your online review about your most recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience. The whole team work hard to go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay. Your loyalty is very important to us, it sounds like you visit Exeter frequently, and I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

King Regards

Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and plenty of breakfast. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. The rooms were fine, lots of good tv channels. Free wifi. Good location off the motorway, a good 15-20 minutes from Exeter city centre though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff were very helpful right from the start. Booking was not straightforward, but staff responded very professionally. Room was clean, and big enough for two adults and two children. Perfect location for airport and M5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked the hotel for a 2 night stay over the August Bank Holiday weekend. Check in is at 3pm and check out at 12pm. The room was clean and tidy and double sofa bed already made up for us. We had a double room + sofa bed for 2 adults and 1 child and was adequate for our needs. Complimentary wi-fi and breakfast are included in the room price which made this very reasonable especially during school holidays/bank holiday time. The staff were all polite and helpful. The location is excellent as a base for travelling to different locations further on into South Devon/Cornwall. Also close to Exeter airport and a Park and Ride right across the road as well as a large free car park to the hotel. The shower worked brilliantly and water was good pressure and remained hot for all 3 of us using. There are tea/coffee facilities in the room and a large flat screen TV, a telephone and a hairdryer. In the bathroom is a soap dispenser by the sink, a tissue dispenser and a hair/body wash dispenser for the shower. Towels were nice and fluffy and an adequate amount provided and will be replaced once used. There are some hangers and hanging and storage space as well as a stand for your suitcase provided in the room, as well as a desk and chair and bedside shelves and an additional shelving unit and full length mirror. The mattresses are quite soft but not an uncomfortable sleep and pillows provided with a choice of firm or soft. There is air conditioning to the room which can be personally controlled or switched off to suit. Both the air conditioning and lights are controlled by the key card. The curtains are black-out so doesn't let in any early light. The doors to the rooms are heavy and do bang so, if like me you are a light sleeper, I recommend taking ear plugs which do the job of drowning out any noise from the doors, as well as late arrivals/car doors etc, all to be expected. The breakfast was replenished promptly by the hard working staff and considering we were there during the bank holiday when the hotel was very busy, we always found a table and most of the guests were forming orderly queues for the food and wasn't really a problem that the area is small. Breakfast is served 6.30-9.30am Weekdays and 7.00-11.00am Weekends and Bank Holidays. Breakfast options were a variety of cereals, bread/toast, bread rolls, fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, mocha, hot water, various teas, cold juices; apple, orange and tropical, milk, water, croissants, mini muffins, jam, grapefruit, cheese, scrambled egg, sausages, beans. Trays, crockery and cutlery were plentiful. A free morning paper is available. All in all we had a lovely short stay and would happily return and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here in July for a friend's wedding. We found the accommodation to be in keeping with what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Simple, clean, but exactly what we needed for our brief stay.

But this Holiday Inn certainly stands out from the crowd in terms of service. We had arrived after flying from Australia and driving directly from Heathrow, and were extremely grateful to be able to check-in an hour after we arrived, even though they were fully booked the night before, and we arrived midmorning. With a jet lagged ten month old as part of our group, this was certainly greatly appreciated.

Also, when we left I accidentally left our passports behind in an airline child's bag which I foolishly discarded without checking properly. When I realised this the day after we checked out, I thought they were gone for good. But amazingly, the staff managed to promptly locate our passports and arrange for them to be couriered to us in London. Special thanks to Laura and Debbie who helped out with this. We were due to fly to Barcelona the following day so these ladies really saved our whole holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JennyEMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We often stay here for work. It is what it is and the staff are very good, friendly and helpful.
There were problems parking and I do wonder if their car park is big enough if all their rooms are full.

The pub next door is very ordinary and the service was poor.

I know the hotel offers a simple breakfast, but I do wish they would improve it just a bit! The young woman serving at breakfast, though was very good and very helpful. I commend her.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing