We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last-minute budget option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last-minute budget option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Usually stay in the centre of town but booked the Holiday Inn last minute. A little further out but not a problem if you have a car as there's ample (free) parking. Check-in was easy, good value for last minute (£65 for the night, including breakfast which you don't get in many budget options e.g. Premier Inn or Travelodge). Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review about your recent stay with us

I am so pleased you chose to stay with us. Although we are situated on the outskirts of Exeter, it is only a short distance to travel into the city itself. There is a Park and Ride service which operates from just over the road and takes you directly into the heart of the city.

I am so glad you found a great last minute deal with us. We always have a number of offers on throughout the year, the next time you require accommodation please contact us directly and we will offer you the best rate we have available.

Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express in Exeter. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    472
    159
    27
    13
See reviews for
254
331
58
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

we chose Holiday inn to keep the price down as we were staying different places visiting NATIONAL TRUST HOUSES so we were pleased with the hotel as we have used them before and they have good beds good size rooms and very clean good T.V. and the breakfast is good

Room Tip: there is always a pub near so if you are tired you wont have to travel into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadviser1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a week, Staff are friendly and helpful, clean hotel and rooms. Internet... BAD! 256k - 512k... are you serious? We back in early 2000?! No minibar or a small fridge in the room.. Breakfast - horrible! You can go out of the hotel in the morning, and 2 minutes drive there is ''Fresha'' cafe, very good breakfast... In the evening the is the ''Barn Owl'' restaurant, quite nice, not too expensive. All and all, worth the price and nice for short stays. You get what you payed for, but again, WiFi MUST be improved!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of July. We booked the hotel as we were going to see Olly Murs at Powderham Castle.
The hotel was easy to find and is next to the Barn Owl pub which is very nice. Ample car parking available at the hotel and very easy check in.
We had a room on the first floor with a double bed and soda bed. Room was of a decent size with a big bathroom and flat screen tv. Bed was lovely and comfy and a nice choice of pillows. Rooms had air conditioning aswell which was much appreciated in the hot weather.
Breakfast at the hotel was good, self service items - cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, rolls, sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Good choice of juices also available.
Opposite the hotel is the park and ride and its a couple of pound rac to get into town.
Good road links to all local places being just off the M5 and stations in exeter to reach any places via train.
Overall this was a fab hotel, very comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for leaving your online review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location suited your needs. Powderham castle is such a lovely location for a concert and only a short travelling distance away from our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments about your bedroom and the choice of breakfast items. In this hot weather we have had so many guests commenting on the air conditioning in the bedroom, I can see this was also a benefit to you too.

I hope you will return to our hotel when you are next in the area. Please call us or go online of our special offers throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I booked two rooms, the first time in this type of Hotel, and was pleasantly surprised. At first sight I found it strange to have cupboards and shelving with no doors. I quickly realised how practical this was - no chance of leaving things behind, and no open doors to obstruct foot passage and block out light. It might look basic, but it was stylishly done, and it worked.
The bathroom had a clever and effective tryptic mirror, and a very large shower. The WC had clever treatment . On opening the bathroom door, it formed a separate WC cubicle.
The room had tea and coffee making facilities, a decent flat screen TV, ang good lighting.
Exeter City Centre is a couple of miles away, and a short drive to many other of Devonshire attraction. The only thing missing was a country view.
There was an adequate hot and cold breakfast included, and it was a lot cheaper than others in the area that I had considered. It was excellent value and a good choice.

Room Tip: Perhaps a little quieter on the opposite site to the car park. Having said that we are very light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milford_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

When you book into a holiday inn express you are not going to get the facilities or serivce level you would if you were checking into an Intercontinental hotel.

However, this hotel offers a good level of service. The setting is a short distance from the M5 so convenient to break the journey to or from the west country. The hotel is clean and fresh. My room was Ok with a smallish bathroom. Now again you don’t get the all the frills and fancies you would in a 5 star hotel but there is soap and towels were soft.

The bed was fairly comfortable but lacked the lovely quilted top on the mattress you often see in higher grade hotels. Breakfast was included within my room rate and because I am a "Elite rewards member" so was internet access.

So if you want clean comfortable room without the expense of a 4 or 5 star hotel this is a good choice. If you want all the bells and whistles this is probably not for you. The hotel delivers a friendly service and comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the quality of the room given the price. The aircondtioning was a bit loud and that was the only negative (as it had to stay off for the night making it a bit warm). I stayed in a newly refurbished room and would guess that the newer furnishings are worth the ask given the look of the room.

The bed is comfortable, the shower is serviceable (an upgrade from the weak Premier Inn showers), there is free wifi for Priority Club members (so well worth signing up) and free breakfast which has a narrow selection but most of what you really want for breakfast (as opposed to will eat because it is there). The parking was free which is handy but was getting a bit full.

The rest of the hotel looks quite newly refurbished but the best part of the stay was the excellent service and nothing is too much trouble attitude of the staff. It is a bit out of Exeter but if you are looking for a base nearby it is taxi-able but not stumbling distance.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room like 155 that I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It is great to receive your feedback here on Tripadvisor, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Our air-conditioning units are being serviced in the immediate future to prevent any interruption to our guests stays.
Our Express Start breakfast is complimentary to all of our guests and I am pleased you found the choices sufficient enough for your needs.
We love to share all feedback we receive from our guests and I am sure they will all share the same pride in your fantastic comments aimed at the Hotel team personally.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing