We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gipsy Hill Hotel(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveler rating
486
530
184
33
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
530
184
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnpark and ridehi expressowl pubbeanspub next doorsofa bedfree breakfastmet officeself serviceconvenient locationair conyogurtplenty of parkingcity centregood sizebudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
850 - 855 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at the beginning of June 2013. I had some concerns after a recent poor stay at the HIE near the NEC. However, the hotel is located very close to the M5 and we found it to be clean, comfortable and received excellent service despite checking in late and with a dog. The breakfast was good and lots of it and we would use this hotel again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off the M5, and by the sound of things overhead, also near to the airport. The check in staff are excellent. However the room is very Premier Inn, ie no bath, just shower, no toiletries just that awful liquid soap and shower gel/shampoo dispenser in the shower and plastic beakers for your toothbrush etc. They have various notices up saying that they are saving the environment with their lack of toiletries but I'm afraid I think in reality they are simply saving their money. The tea making facilities likewise just had a few sachets of tea and coffee, no hot chocolate and of course no biscuits. Furniture in the room was all very functional ie no drawers, wardrobe was just a rail with hangers against the wall. The beds were comfortable, pillows overstuffed and abit hard, although they came with a note that said 'soft'! The air con worked well and we had no complaints about that. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but very relaxed, you just went in and helped yourself.
In summary it wasn't worth the £100 I paid for the room. I think if you're paying over £70, you're paying too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance to the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veebee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip advisor. We appreciate all feedback on our Hotel.

As our Hotel is branded as a limited service Hotel, the same as Premier Inn, we appreciate there are some similarities in pricing and room type. We do however pride ourselves in the offering of complimentary car parking, complimentary WIFI and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast in the Holiday Inn Express’. We also like to differ from the rest with our Guest Services Team and customer service, which I am glad you appreciated as excellent.

With regards to the ‘saving the environment’ signs in our bedrooms, we do keep a large supply of additional toiletries at reception which our team will happily provide for you personally, this is also the same case in supplying of more tea and coffee in the bedrooms. Our reception is manned 24 hours a day so we do ask our guests to contact anytime for us to personally supply any additional items you may need.

We do offer further discounted rates when the bookings are made further in advance. Should you wish to come and stay with us again, please contact the Hotel directly for any more information on these rates.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stopped over for 1 night only on our holiday drive through South West England. The hotel is not exactly off the motor way as we discovered later hence 4 out of 5 for location. The receptionist was warm, friendly and went out of her way to help. We needed a chemist to purchase prescription medication, an A4 paper and a cooler bucket to keep our lunch fresh. She provided all for us effortlessly. The room was clean, sheets clean and wished this was the same standard in all the other places we had stayed prior.
The next morning, we had a filling breakfast & felt sad to be leaving. Would highly recommend the stay here especially if you book in advance as you save money off the on the day price. Overall, brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrEji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our third stay, ideal location, pleasant staff, quiet and very enjoyable.there is a very good adjoining inn, a Vintage Inn for an evening meal. A convenient park and ride also to city centre. Hotel breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Great stopover heading. To t he south west of England
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irthlingborough43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Firstly thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel, we love to hear of our guests returning to us and thank you for sharing your Hotel experiences online.

The Barn Owl, Vintage Inn, has recently been refurbished and it is good to read that you enjoy your experience with them. We will be sure to share this with the management at the pub.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Thank you again,
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Once again I must applaud H.I.Express for another very good hotel. The staff were most helpful and the rooms immaculate. We had a large room with twin beds that were really comfortable. The breakfast varied and more than sufficient. The hotel was ideally located for visiting Exeter as there was a park and ride facility very close by. Hopping on the bus for the short ride into the centre made life easy without having to find parking. Will certainly be staying again on our next visit to the area. The general manager took a lot of trouble showing me the other rooms they had to offer and she was so very friendly that it will be like visiting friends on our next stay.

Room Tip: Selecting twin bedded rooms seems to ensure a larger room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bing_coco43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great feedback on our Hotel here on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic to read that you are a loyal customer to the brand, and I thank you for this. Our team pride themselves in their positive customer service and I am pleased you witnessed this first hand from the senior management of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Exeter in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews