We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Holiday Inn Express's in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great for business or pleaseure.

5 mins off the M5 - with good access to Exeter and the South West.

Rooms are immaculate- and larger than normal.

Feels more like a proper Hotel than a budget chain.

Nice bar - with take away options - and great pub in the Carpark...

Free wifi throughout hotel and pub - always a nice touch.

Free Parking!

Room Tip: Upper floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1WelshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your online review.

I am delighted to hear such a nice review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your comments regarding your room to our housekeeping team.
We have just introduced free Wifi throughout our hotel which is proving to be a great benefit with the majority of our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Exeter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice room very clean, not even a speck of dust. Comfortable bed. Convenient location near junction 29. Staff are friendly and efficient. Good selection for self serve breakfast, fruit, pastries, cereal, toast and some hot options. Ice machine near reception. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Third visit to this hotel, convenient location just off J29
Reception staff very pleasant , clean room.
Breakfast included, cereals, toast and fruit are excellent. Not sure about the hot option, microwaved beans, scrambled egg and sausages - not our preferred option, but plenty of takers from the other guests.
Try the a barn Owl next door for an evening meal - good offers

Room Tip: Join the Priority club, they always seems to give a good room if you are a member
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night and I must say I was not dissapointed with this Holiday Inn Express.

Our room was well appointed and comfortable with large flat screen TV and compact, yet practical, bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and one of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel for a long time.

Staff on check in we're very friendly and helpful.

We had the breakfast the following morning in the hotel however we were slightly concerned with quite a few plates and bowls being dirty. I would suggest more attention needs to be paid in this area though this did not detract from an overall satisfying stay.

Value for money was good and location is very convenient for the M5 motorway.

Overall I would recommend this hotel when staying in Exeter.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Jonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor

Earlier on this year we welcomed the news that we were having brand new 32 inch TV’s in our guest bedrooms, they have finally arrived, I am so pleased that you like them.

Please accept my apologies for the comments you made regarding our breakfast area. I will certainly raise the concerns you have shared with our breakfast team, as dirty crockery is not a standard that we accept here at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope when you are back in this area you will come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very clean, the receptionist are really professional and smailing.
Good breakfast included,bus stop to the city center in front of the hotel.
In front of the hotel there is a very good pub with very good food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our Hotel.

We appreciate your great comments about our staff being professional and I am delighted that you found the Hotel clean and met all of your expectations and more.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express, Exeter again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed twice here now, the facilities are as you would expect from Hix.
Good points
Staff are efficient
Very clean
Near the airport 9 min drive
Bad points
Underpowered shower
Food is very limited (pizza and chips) and it was cold
Expensive for what it is
Breakfast is a manic and doesn't seem to be a big enough eating area

Also avoid the barn owl pub next to the hotel see my review for info on this

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as the car park it actually above some of the windows on that level
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kotfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate all of our guests feedback to support us in developing and improving our product and service.

Due to the Holiday Inn Express’ brand being a limited service product, we are unable to offer full meals in our Hotel. We recently introduced a snack menu to be available to our guests that wanted something light to eat without leaving the Hotel. I apologise your experience wasn’t of a standard we would expect to offer, we do cook all of our food in line with Health and Safety regulations, using temperature probes. I will be sure to talk to the staff on duty to ensure the high standard is maintained.
I appreciate our breakfast area can be busy when the Hotel is full, we have been advising our guests on check in when the Hotel is busy and have also provided busy timing posters around the Hotel. I will ensure the correct training has been carried throughout the entire team to keep a minimal effect on our guests during these times.

I am pleased you found our staff to be efficient to your needs and our Hotel very clean. We do pride ourselves in these areas.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again and you find any issues you have raised have been addressed.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a short break down in the South West. The Hotel was very easy to find only being less than two minutes from Junction 29 of the M5. There were plenty of car parking spaces available. The Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. I had a very comfortable room with adjustable climate control. The Buffet Breakfast in the morning was very good with plenty on offer, a Continental Style Breakfast with Hot Options of Scrambled Eggs, Sausages and Baked Beans. My only complaint is that the in room Wi-Fi was expensive. Overall this is a very good Hotel to stay in and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M25-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

It was great receiving your positive feedback on our Hotel, thank you for sharing this.

I am pleased to inform you that we are introducing free Wi-Fi in all of our bedrooms. By the end of March the whole hotel will have free WIFI. I hope this reassures you that we take all of our guests’ feedback into consideration to continue improving our product.

I am extremely pleased to read your entire visit to Holiday Inn Express, Exeter was an enjoyable one and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#23 of 31 in Exeter
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $70 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing