We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formulaic but excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I prefer not to stay in these characterless modern sleep factories - but needs must and I must say that my the stay here was quite agreeable, everything was as it should be.

It's five years since I last stayed in this hotel, in that time more bedrooms have been added and the public areas reconfigured - the hotel is excellent in every way.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, the whole hotel was scrupulously clean and the food at breakfast very good - even hot food on offer from the buffet in the seperate servery.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlooking the "garden" are well away from the public areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

It is great to read such a positive review on our Hotel here in Exeter.

We appreciate all feedback from our guests and ensure all feedback is shared amoungst our team to continue to improve our product and customer service. I am particularly pleased you felt Holiday Inn Express, Exeter stood out from your visits to other Hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business - arriving late and departing early. It was functional and clean. There were a few problems I'd booked a double room but was allocated a twin and told there were no other rooms available; the door key didn't work and then the door didn't lock. A tad annoying, but to be fair, the staff were very friendly and incredibly efficient. This more than made up for any shortcomings. The hotel is a bit tired and probably in need of a refurb, but overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on our Hotel.

Firstly, I apologise of any inconvenience caused with your faulty door lock experience, I am pleased our team managed to assist you.

I also apologise you were not given a double bedded room when you arrived. When booking rooms guests can have the option of selecting a standard room, this room type is then allocated on arrival to any room type we have available. This may have been a possibility why the incorrect room type was assigned.

Our Hotel was fully refurbished in 2007 and we have a maintenance team in house who keep our Hotel maintained up to a high standard. I understand that when you enter the room the old-fashioned TV’s can make the rooms look dated. However I am pleased to say the Hotel is awaiting delivery of our 32” flat screen TV’s which will I hope you will agree will add to our contemporary decorated bedrooms.

I am very pleased our staff were friendly and efficient, we do pride ourselves in our customer service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express, Exeter again in the enar future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is easy to find (with sat nav) once you've negotiated the traffic on a busy roundabout, and the parking is plentiful and convenient. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and the room comfortable and adequately furnished. We were pleased that there was a stand alone shower. The public area is well appointed and comfortable.

We had dinner (very good) at the adjoining Barn Owl pub, which was most convenient. Breakfast in the hotel was an efficient buffet, setting us up well for our journey back to Cheshire.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I very much appreciate you sharing your great experience with Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff, I will be sure to share these comments.

We look forward to seeing you again at our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There are more modern Holiday Inn Express hotels elsewhere in the UK, but this one at least gave me a decent night's sleep and the usual HIE breakfast the next morning.

The TV is (shockingly) still a 20-odd inch CRT but the room is clean if a little tired.

Bed was nice and comfortable and the shower very hot :)

All in all, a decent hotel with friendly staff, in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Firstly, thank you ever so much for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor we appreciate all contact with our guests.

I am sorry that you feel our bedrooms are not modern. Our Hotel was fully refurbished in 2007 and our maintenance and on site painter continue to maintain high levels of maintenance and décor. I would be curious to know which room it was you stayed in so I can investigate this further?

Our new TV’s are on their way to us as we speak which we are very excited to receive to compliment our bedrooms and guests experience.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I aggranged to meet a friend at the barn owl for coffee, however when we arrived at 11.30, we found it closed. We decided to walk over to the Holiday Inn Express where we were greeted with warm smiles from all the staff. Upon entering the building the reception area was immaculate and everybody was smart and approchable.
We decided to have coffee in the lounge area, the coffee was great quality, and most of all it was delivered with a smile, we were really made to feel welcome here.
My friend and I both had newborn babies, we were made to feel comfotable feeding them and the changing facilities were so clean and fresh.
We decided as the place was so nice, we would stay for lunch, so we ordered some sandwiches; my friend wanted a salad and although this was not on, the menu Wendy from the kitchen went through the fillings that were avalible for the day.
The food was great, but most of all the atmosphere was relaxed and calm, which is just what we needed with newborn babies!
The manager came to see if everything was ok with our food and drink and all of the staff were friendly and avalible to speak to us.
I really feel that on our short visit to the hotel, the staff went above and beyond our expectations.

Thank you to all the staff who made our visit such a great one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUBEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here to break a trip down to Cornwall.

First impresions were pretty good, easy to find off the motorway, and near several business parks. There is a Pub next door. Reception looked good and the staff were welcoming. Breakfast was pretty good too.

The negatives were; the room was a little on the small side, the decor was uninspiring, and there was an old fashioned 14 inch TV in the room, not a small flat screen. I also had a room where the drains in the sink smelt so you always had to have the plug closed.

In summary, OK for one night, but if travelling this way again, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwaredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel online.

The Hotel is very proud to ensure that the décor is kept in a fresh and up to date appearance.
With regards to your comment regarding our TV’s, as previously mentioned in other reviews, we are very excited to be receiving our 32” flat screen TV’s very soon for all of our bedrooms.
I do hope you took the opportunity of telling one of our Guest Services Team about the issues with your sink, as we would get this problem resolved immediately.

I am extremely pleased your impressions of the Hotel were positive and you were able to enjoy your visit to the Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

We do hope we will welcome you again to the Hotel in the near future should your needs bring you to the area.

Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Exeter does exactly what it says on the tin and on this occasion even more. The room was warm, comfortable, well equiped and surprisingly spacious. If you want a really quiet room it may be best to avoid those with an adjoining room door.Parking is plentiful, safe and secure and enables guests to easily access the Jurassic coastline,Dartmoor and South Devon whilst a very regular bus service into the city centre can be found just a few yards across the road. Breakfast is plentiful,varied and more than adequate bearing in mind this is not a 4 star hotel. Free Independent newspapers are a nice extra touch, especially for the lone traveller. Although our long weekend was reduced to 2 nights because of heavy snow, the Exeter staff could not have been more helpful and obliging in making our stay comfortable and relaxing. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

It is so pleasing to read such a fantastic review on our Hotel here in Exeter and I am delighted to hear you managed to experience the local attractions.

It is great to hear you had a great experience with our staff, I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We work hard at the Hotel to exceed all needs of our guests within our Guest Services Team and all feedback is extremely motivating.

I hope you had a safe journey home through the snow and we hope to see you again at Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,852 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $50 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing