We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for the city centre, the airport and nearby beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Handy for the city centre, the airport and nearby beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The friendly greeting at the reception desk upon arrival made me feel a valued guest. My room was clean and spacious. It was at the rear of the hotel so the quiet location ensured a good night's sleep. As a Priority Club member I was entitled to a 10% discount on drinks/snacks at the bar. However, the hotel serves breakfast, but no other meals, so guests are drawn to the pub/restaurant right next door. I saw many other hotel guests dining at the Barn Owl, but surprisingly there are no incentives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review on Tripadvisor.

I especially love your comments that we made you feel a valued guest, our staff are vey guest service focused and I am pleased you witnessed this.

Thank you for your feedback regarding The Barn Owl next door, unfortunately as it is managed separately they do not work closely with the Hotel however we are looking to improve our working relationship with them.

I am pleased to hear you are one of our Priority Club Member’s, may I take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    479
    160
    27
    13
See reviews for
255
337
59
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

despite IHG platinum status, this hotel wanted 4gbp per hour for internet access, no welcome amenity or recognition of status. Small and very basic room, to be perfectly honest no difference between it and a travelodge despite the cost being 3 times as much. Dreadful bed. Certainly would not recommend this hotel based on what it had to offer. no food service, although we were given a takeaway menu! staff were pleasant and competent however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, all feedback is taken very seriously within our team.
Firstly may I thank you for your loyal custom within the brand, I am sorry that you feel that you were not welcomed as a Priority Platinum member, we pride ourselves on giving all of our guests a pleasant welcome as you can see from previous reviews.
We do offer free WIFI within the public areas of the hotel, as with all hotels within the area WIFI is charged in the bedrooms.
Unfortunately as we are a Holiday Inn Express the hotel cannot offer food as we have a public house adjacent to the hotel that serves food from 12 noon until 9.30pm.
I am sorry your experience was below our normal guest experience; if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hamnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff (except for Nina) are really terrible with their service. It is just something that words can't describe. The prices for drinks are ridiculous high and from the neighbouring supermarket. Just look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwehnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

good hotel you pay for what you get. rooms are clean and well presented. if on a budget a good place to stay. i would recomened to people going to this part of the world. staff are great and very helpful, will go out of the way to help you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabby1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.

I very much look forward to sharing your great comments with our Guest Services Team as they appreciate all feedback and find great feedback extremely motivational.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I and my family stay here regularily as my daughter studies at the local University.
It is cheaper than the hotels nearer than the centre and more than adequate for our needs.
We usually book one room for the family (2 adults + 2 children). The room is fairly basic. The beds are somewhat 'tired' which some may find uncomfortable. But you get what you pay for!
I am a member of the 241 Hotel Club, which I must admit is an excellent idea to join if you regularily stay at this (and a couple of other) chain of hotels around the country or even Europe. It allows you to get 2 nights for the price of 1.
The hotel provides an good breakfast - hot food (sausages/eggs) as well as the usual cereals/fruit/yoguart/toast/croissants/rolls ans teas/coffee's. The breakfast is all included in the price too, unlike other hotels who will charge you extra.
They have a bar, but do not have a restaurant, therefore no dinner e.t.c. but there is a good pub right next door - The Barn Owl which does get busy on weekends. There are no other shops/restaurants in close vicinity as the hotel is located outside of the main city in an industrial estate, but as long as you have a car this is not a problem. The hotel provides plenty of car parking, which can also be a problem with some of the hotels in the centre.
There is a park-and-ride just over the road if you want to use public transport into hte city. If taking your car - I recommend parking at the Cathedral & Quay Car Park - which is one of the cheapest car parks in the city, and is near the shops/cathedral/and river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shad0wDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your detailed experience of the Holiday Inn Express, Exeter on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you stay with the Hotel on a regular basis and that we meet your expectations.

We have recently replaced all the beds in the Hotel, only 2 years ago. We have also very recently replaced all pillows and duvets in all rooms.

I am pleased you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast buffet and our bar. Although we have limited facilities, we do aim to accommodate for our guests’ and their needs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My mum, my daughter and myself plus our small white fluffy pooch had a great nights stay at the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. It was great to find a hotel that accepted dogs - we even took her to breakfast! We sat in the guest sofa area just outside the dining area which enabled us to eat our wonderful breakfast without leaving her in the room. The only problem we had was with the heating system in our room. It was a tad on the cold side, however, the two receptionists were very obliging and once it had been decided that it needed looking at they promptly produced individual heaters and blankets. We were toasty for the rest of the evening!

The breakfast staff couldn't have worked any harder, they were in and out like yo yo's keeping the breakfast topped up and clearing tables.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter, we were delighted to hear that it you had such a positive experience. In particular, the team values your kind observation of their professionalism and friendliness, and we will continue to ensure that all our guests receive a warm welcome.
Breakfast certainly can be hectic at times! My team strives to deliver great service; I am pleased to hear that they delivered it during your stay.

Once again thank you, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Exeter on Friday 3rd November on our way to friends at Newlyn, Cornwall. We found everything about the Hotel as it said on the label,
Staff were great, nothing was too much trouble, the room etc was spotless and provided everything we needed and the pub across the car park served excellent food with excellent service. Breakfast was as stated and we continued our journey well refreshed.
We will definately stay here again and would recommend the hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Become a member of the priority club - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing