We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A predictable value for money standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A predictable value for money standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent two nights here.Clean and delivered what you would expect from a IHG franchised hotel.
Breakfast which was included was basic but adequate.
WIfi in Rooms comes at a price,in lobby it is free for 6 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    472
    159
    27
    13
See reviews for
254
332
58
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, good rooms with comfortable beds, choice of hard or soft pillow which was a nice touch, breakfast was good in the morning. Overall exactly what you would expect from this hotel. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your online feedback. It is great to hear your comments regarding your stay with us.
We have received some fantastic comments regarding the choice of soft or firm pillows in our bedrooms, we have found that this accommodates the requests of quite a number of our guests.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that it met with your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights room was clean and warm. Very comfortable bed .Excellent use of pace in the bathroom, The hotel is very quiet in the evenings .,The staff was very helpful very close to M5,The breakfast was very good plenty to choose from .There is a pub just by the entrance which serves very good food

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good location just off the M5 (although entrance not well sign posted). Comfortable, modern room to usual hi express standard. Bar/restaurant facilities limited but lovely pub just next door. Not a wide choice for breakfast but good self service coffee machines and food of a reasonable quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night as we had attended friends anniversary party for the day about 10 miles away. Very friendly staff, immaculately clean room with easy to operate temperature control. Very clever use of space with the door to shower room/toilet. Bright, modern decoration. TV could have been bigger & I would like free WiFi in rooms & a fridge. I didn't hear any noise from outside. Pub/restaurant in car park & park & ride nearby for access to city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your online review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass all your comments on to our Housekeeping team who work hard to ensure all our guest bedrooms are cleaned to an excellent standard. In 2013 we will be upgrading all our TV's in our guest bedrooms, these will have a larger range of channels and a larger screen size. Currently there is free Wi-Fi available downstairs in our Great Room, you can purchase Wi-Fi in your bedrooms for a cost, this can either be added to your bill or purchased directly from the company. We are always pleased to hear excellent feedback here for everyone to see.

We would be delighted for you to come back and stay with us again

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything about our stay was fantastic, but the thing that stood out the most was the staff - every single person we came into contact with went the extra mile for us, it was wonderful. The hotel itself was absolutely spotless and our bed was incredibly comfortable, we would highly recommend it to everyone. The location is just outside of the city centre, but this did not matter as the park and ride bus service was opposite the hotel, and was cheap, regular and dropped you in the city centre in about ten minutes. Overall - faultless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind online review



I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear such kind reviews regarding the team here, I will be sure to pass these onto the team during our meetings. Although we are situated 3 miles from the city we do have an excellent bus service operating right across the road. A number of our guests use this as an easy way of travelling in and out of the city.

Thank you again for you feedback, it is great to receive such kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon

Kind Regards
Natalie Maun
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pouance, France
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice bed & a good night's sleep which was all we needed for an early flight out next morning.. Apparently on the ground floor the Menu on the remote doesn't work so that (for example) you can't programme in a wake-up call!
Liked the cunning way that the door to the bathroom became the door to the loo so that it could be separated for dual use. Didn't like the fact that in Room 061 the fan of the heater of the thermostat could not be switched off. The only way to do it without any noise was to turn it off altogether, thus defeating the object. Otherwise clean, comfortable & friendly. Bar a bit small (pub next door) and bar snacks virtually non-existant.

Room Tip: Until sorted don't book 061
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
3.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing