We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in exeter and we was greeted when we checked in, Reception and the staff was polite .We had in-connecting rooms, which was fab as we could leave it open and keep an eye on the kids, i thought the bathroom was really nice and modern.The bed was lovely and comfortable The room was a nice size. Breakfast was included and there was a whole range to choose from, I liked where the hotel was as there was places to go near by which was good! All in all we would definitely go again and it is a very well managed hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    479
    160
    27
    13
See reviews for
255
337
59
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I booked a standard room last week (2nd May) but when I arrived I was allocated a smoking room, which stank to high heaven. I could not sleep properly and all my clothes reeked of stale smoke in the morning. I complained to guest services who advised me that it was company policy to allocate rooms on a first come first served basis. It was the worst night I have ever had in a hotel, and will never stay there again . I cannot take the risk

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to contact our guest relations department at Intercontinental Hotels and for sharing your recent stay experience`s regarding our hotel on Trip advisor.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to being allocated a smoking bedroom on arrival. As previously explained by the hotel duty manager and our guest relations department the room description for a standard room which was booked states “When you arrive at the hotel we will do our best to meet your room bed type and smoking preferences, these are subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed standard rooms”
Unfortunately on the night of your stay the hotel was exceptionally busy and all non-smoking rooms had already been allocated to guests that specifically booked non-smoking.
Please accept my apologies that we were unable to meet your requests on this occassion, if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on 01392261000.
Kind Regards
Debbie Hamnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn due to it's central location, ease of access and low-key, value for money facilities. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were modern simple but more than adequate for our needs. There is a shower rather than a bath which we prefer and the toilet shares the bathroom door in a clever way to enable two people to use the facilities. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is included with a very efficient breakfast buffet area with a nice choice of food including some cooked. A microwave cooker is available in reception.Wi-Fi is free in reception areas but charged if used in the room. The TVs are old style but the hotel has told us that they are due to be replaced by LCD screens shortly. I found the low temperature setting of the reception area's air-con annoying; a hint of the branding's USA heritage. Overall a very well managed hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the car park will avoid possible main road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid April 2012. The hotel is fairly basic, its functional, rooms are clean but not very exciting, smallish bed, with bed settee, TV (limited selection of channels), hot drinks in the room, but no wardrobe or drawer space. The bathroom is small, and mine didn't smell too great when using the sink. I think the smell was from the waste pipe, and when the sink emptied the bathroom filled with a toilet smell, and the extractor wasn't working. Breakfast is pretty basic, self service, and while there is a hot selection, it was the same on both days, sausage, beans, and scrambled egg. Reception and staff were pleasant enough. Would not be a good choice if you want to spend time in Exeter City centre without driving, and taxis are about £12 each way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleavers1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback via Tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback to continue to improve our product and services.

I have advised my maintenance technician of your comments regarding the smell in the bathroom; he is at present checking all bathrooms so we can identify your rooms and rectify the issue. Thank you.

Our complimentary breakfast is a continental style buffet with hot options as you stated, as we are a limited service hotel, we do unfortunately only have the facilities to offer this selection however this has improved from our continental buffet just 2 years ago and all feedback will be passed on to our management.

I appreciate the distance between the city centre and our Hotel, however we do have a park and ride bus directly opposite the Hotel that can be used in the day time which is a lot cheaper than using taxi’s.

I am pleased all staff you met during your stay met your expectations; we as a team do aim to provide a great customer service.

Thank you again for taking your time to leave your comments and we do hope to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Yes all Holiday Inn Express branded hotels are designed to be the same but the little things can make a big difference.

For this hotel the stand out points for me were the staff who provided a great service and then the pub opposite. The food served here was amazing and not your usual English bar food. I would actually return to the area to try something else from their menu.

The hotel itself was in very good condition, easy to locate just off the motorway and the "standard" express breakfast was well presented, fresh and always well stocked. I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomppayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Short stay while at a trade show,nice room all you need , quick and easy self serve breakfast,some of the friendliest reception staff i have ever met very helpfull .The Barn Owl pub right next door does the most fantastic food ,nice staff their too ! All in all a great stay thanks and thanks for printing me the map .Will be back soon .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moffy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear the Hotel met your expectations, and I am very pleased the Hotel staff exceeded your expectations and went that extra mile for you providing you with a map of the local area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location just off motorway and a few minutes away from the airport.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast.
The only down side was that the automatic blow heater (which is mounted high on the wall) was very noisy and kept waking us as it switched on and off. We tried adjusting the temp but it did not help. We could also hear what sounded like toilets flushing which seemed very loud.
We used the hotel for a stop off on the way to the airport and it was perfect for this - not sure if we would want to stay longer than one night though.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Myakhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments on the Hotel we appreciate all feedback from our guests to ensure our Hotel is the best it can be.

I have passed your comments on to our maintenance department that has checked the comfort cooling in the room and it seems to be back into full working order, once turned off the unit should not be coming back on again unless the electricity has been reset in the room.

I am pleased the Hotel met your requirements for a one night stop and if there is anything we can help with again please do not hesitate in contacting the Hotel directly.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing