We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor
Ranked #49 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The bathroom has not been touched since the 1970's , take a look at photos . The hot tap was dripping constantly and when we turned hot tap on to have a bath the water came out like mud . We stayed there as part of a wedding group and the room was booked for us by the bride so I didn't want to upset anyone , but would not stay there again . Having said this the breakfast was lovely . We paid £40 for a double room which included all you can eat hot buffet breakfast . I would not have wanted to pay anymore . The building smelt of damp and really the whole place should be knocked down and started again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    25
    28
    29
See reviews for
29
64
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not a bad place to stay for a night or two but wouldn't fancy spending longer there. The bar and food on site was excellent and couldn't fault it. Our room was quite near a busy main road so it was quite noisy at night plus the window was faulty and wouldn't close shut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited in March 2013 with family - 10 of us in total - about 4.30/5ish on a weekday for a birthday celebration. The place was much busier than we expected for that time of day. All ended up having a carvery. I'm not a fan of carveries at the best of times as don't like the idea of food sitting around and prefer it to be cooked fresh. At best it was average, at worst almost inedible Went for the turkey which, to be fair, was nicely cooked and not dry however the roast potates were so hard they nearly broke your teeth. I asked whether the stuffing had meat in or was sage an onion - blank look back and then told that it was just Paxo stuffing - so whatever was in Paxo. There was a good choice of veg but strangely all had been cooked to nearly mush and tasted the same. THe gravy was terrible and a strange green/brown type colour for the poultry gravy. The only saving grace here was the customer service - the Staff who served us were excellent. This place always seems to be busy and i'm really not sure why - I do have quite high expectations when eating out - I expect it at least to be slightly better than I could do myself (and I am by no means a good Cook!) but perhaps I have too high expectations for a national chain afterall and plenty of other people seem to like it but I have to say I thought the food was dreadful, In our group the only person who enjoyed it was age 5! That said, I didn't have desert, but others did and said they were good. This place seems to serve a purpose as frequently busy but i have to say I will try and avoid going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slw1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay here at least twice a year to visit family and yes it is dated and is need of a complete overhaul but linen is clean and food excellent and a good pub atmosphere.
Also the outside decor could do with a comple face lift

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finistere, Brittany, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The rooms and public areas of the hotel are dated and could do with renovating. However this is made up for by the excellent value for money - £40 - for a double room with breakfast. The staff were helpful and friendly. The quality of the food was excellent. Unfortunately the radiator in our room was hot and we could find no way to turn it off. The bathroom (which actually had a bath) was in need of renovation, but the shower was very good - being powerful and hot at all times during our 4-day stay.

The location - within a 5 minute drive of junction 30 of the M5 is very convenient for the city of Exeter (the park and ride bus stops opposite the hotel).

Despite the fact that we slept with the window open (due to the hot radiator) we were undisturbed by traffic noise. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennondayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerzet
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You get what you pay for. Reception had to be called by phone, but they had to collect their own cup of tea from the kitchen. Room is tired and needs renovating. I stayed in it 4 years ago and it has not been done since then. Hot tap did not work, and no chair or stool for wife to preen herself. However the pub side was excellent although the menu was short but the food was good. Tip, don't order drinks from table as they take to long. Go to the bar yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerzetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want a meal in an average, dated pub, coupled with an unhelpful waitress who was not keen to have us seated where WE wanted with space and light to cater for a disabled member, then you that's what you get here. Lacking in atmosphere and cleanliness. However the chef was cheerful and the food was fine but the rest of the staff have a 'can't be bothered attitude'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.2 mi away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Gipsy Hill Hotel
#15 of 31 in Exeter
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
507 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fair Oak House B & B
Fair Oak House B & B
#17 of 69 in Exeter
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#12 of 69 in Exeter
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor
Address: Rydon Lane | Middlemoor, Exeter EX2 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its 38 rooms have been totally refurbished for a fresh and contemporary look, there's free WiFi, a complimentary continental breakfast and ample free parking. Best of all, you can look forward to sinking into a king-size, pocket-sprung Hypnos bed, complete with a mattress topper for a great night's sleep. With easy access from the M5, Exeter Airport and Digby and Sowton railway station, it's an ideal venue for a business meeting or base for exploring local attractions. Kids love Devon's Crealy Great Adventure Park, with its heart-stopping rides for thrill seekers and soft-play and animal petting for younger guests. If you prefer relaxing in the countryside, Dartmoor National Park and the inspiring Jurassic Coast are less than 30 minutes' drive. There's a Toby Carvery pub and restaurant right next door; an ideal way to relax after your day. Enjoy a drink in the bar or pile your plate high with freshly cooked roast meats and vegetables – and don't forget to try a hot cooked breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing