We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good gluten free options!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Italia Exeter

Bella Italia Exeter
Ranked #21 of 514 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bella Italia Exeter can be found just moments away from the main city train station and just a few minutes from Exeter Castle. This city centre restaurant is popular amongst diners looking for well priced, good quality Italian food and offers both a la carte and fixed price menus as well as great set menus for the little ones. Indulge in delicious dishes such as the Penne Zafferano (smoked salmon, prawns and cherry tomatoes in a spinach, saffron and cream sauce) or Pollo Panino (chargrilled chicken breast, smoked mozzarella, roasted red peppers and ciabatta bread with mayo and fries). Open from early morning, Bella Italia also serves up some great breakfasts including coffee and pastries and English breakfasts.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good gluten free options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I am coeliac and bella italia have a whole seperate gluten free menu. Although the pizzas are unfortunately a bit like cardboard the gluten free pasta is lovely and you can often get 2 for 1 vouchers online which make it really good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kateandchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    111
    48
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skegness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My partner contracted food poisoning after visiting Bella italia.
I sent copiers of the receipt for the meal plus sundry other receipt, taxi to hospital etc.
Bella completely ignored the complaint, so I contact the MD of Bella who, even though they have a copy of the bill refuse to acknowledge we even visited the place.

Beware, they are better places to eat who are more responsible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loccdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a family meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly and efficient staff. Hot, tasty food with a good variety of choices. Our family includes very fussy eaters and people with very restricted diets due to medical conditions but all were happy.The tables are well spaced and there was a good atmosphere on a busy bank holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service is POOR!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Bella Italia is your usual safe chain store and it has been around for years. However, the bella italia in Exeter is appalling. I've been here in a large group and as a pair, my many experiences tells me that this place has awful services.
The waiter completely ignores you and you'll end up feeling unwanted. It gives me the impression that they don't want to be there. I would not want to go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanciabuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. They were obliging with every request and made a real fuss of my 9 year old daughter,who's birthday it was.
The food was great and lovely coffee.
My only negative is it is quite expensive, so we only go for a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoppy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Bella Italia Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing