We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas Eve dinner ever.”
Review of El Bocado

El Bocado
Ranked #59 of 535 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Independent Tapas Bar and Restaurant serving authentic Spanish food. We are passionate about remaining authentic importing our Spanish ingredients and using local suppliers where possible.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We happened in here on Christmas Eve, and WOW was it grand. Wine and tapas were exquisite.The waiter was handsome and charming, and the proprietor dashing and helpful. Butter beans cooked in garlic, prawns, mushrooms, calamares, bread and olives to die for. The waiter recommended a delightful Spanish red wine that we thoroughly enjoyed, and we finished it off with a cheese board and rum raisin ice cream with a raisin flavored sherry to drink with it. It was really one of the best meals we've ever had, and the Christmas aspect made it even more special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NRLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for such a lovely review.

We do aim to keep all our food as authentic as possible including our desserts. We visit Spain once a year to get inspiration for new tapas.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for El Bocado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 635 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I am very glad to find this restaurant cause is really difficult to get authentic spanish served in tapas. I think it's because it's an independent . The music takes you to a friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy your meal while talking with your friends enjoying a delicious cocktail.
Also I might to say that the service was lovely and the meal to die for!
And don't forget to taste their desserts... They're extremely delicious! All handmade and cooked with love and passion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuelMenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

We are proud to serve authentic Spanish tapas and very pleased to see that our guests enjoy our food.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

El Bocado - a great relaxed night for my birthday. Welcomed at the door, personal service, outstanding food from a huge menu - and an exploding sparkler in the dessert! Wow! Heres to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Starkiller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for El Bocado.

We aim to make everyone's visit special - the food, the service and the ambiance are all important to us. But if we know there's a birthday we like to give the birthday person something to remember. And it makes for great photos!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at El Bocado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very authentic tasting Spanish food and menu selection. Lovely, comfortable ambience and friendly service.

Great quality of ingredients and cooking, accompanied by excellent Spanish wine.

A definite return.

Thank MarbellaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It's lovely to see feedback that is so positive. The El Bocado team work very hard and its great for them to see such a glowing review.

Thank you once again - and we look forward to welcoming you next time you come to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited exter for a short trip. After dropping our bags off at the hotel, my boyfriend mentioned a nice looking tapas place near our hotel. So we thought we'd go there for a drink and something to eat. We arrived at 8.30pm on a Thursday evening, the restaurant had about 10 people there, but the waiter informed us they were expecting a large party (of 14) to arrive shortly, and we wouldn't be able to order food until 9pm. We decided to wait, as we were hungry and were happy to have a drink, plus the waiter said it wouldn't be later than 9 until we could order. So, we ordered a drink and waited. After 30 mins, we tried to get a waiter's attention to order food, but they were distracted at the bar. Finally got a waitress' attention at 9.10pm, who told us that they still couldn't take orders as the kitchen was still busy, but she'd be back, however she only came back at 9.30pm when we got up to pay for our drinks and leave. I've never received such indifferent service, where they obviously didn't care about any other custom as they had a 'big' party of 14 to cater for. I just regret that we wasted our money there on drinks, would have rather spent it in the cheapie chain pub next door!

Thank SaraMJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for feedback.

Unfortunately I think that you misunderstood the number of our big party -- it was 40 people not 14. It was a pre-booked party and therefore they have to take precedence over our guests that haven't booked. We cook from fresh - we don't do fast food.

On arrival we explained the situation to you - as we did to 2 other tables that did not book, gave you a menu, price list and sat you down at a table.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the wait - however I am not sure what we could have done other than advise you of the big party that was due to arrive at any moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bocado also viewed

 

Been to El Bocado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing