We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced, disgusting food!”

Rockfish Exeter Quay
Ranked #176 of 624 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $13 - $64
Description: Our restaurant at Exeter is in a stunning location right next to the water at the Quayside, a great place to sit and watch all the buzz and activity on the water and enjoy some great seafood. Our lovely outdoor seating area can be enjoyed when the weather's favourable and when it's not we have a log burner inside to keep the restaurant nice and cosy.
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant at Exeter is in a stunning location right next to the water at the Quayside, a great place to sit and watch all the buzz and activity on the water and enjoy some great seafood. Our lovely outdoor seating area can be enjoyed when the weather's favourable and when it's not we have a log burner inside to keep the restaurant nice and cosy.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are rude, uninterested, and awkward. The food is so expensive for what you get! The portions are ridiculously small, the sauces did not compliment the fish, they were over powering, and tasted awful! The fish we ordered was hake, and cod accompanied by the "refillable, bottomless" chips, and it was a teeny tiny portion. The fish piece looked ridiculous compared to the size of the plate! The fish was sooooo greasy, and tasted terrible, we didn't even finish it! The amount of chips you get is in a tiny holder. There is an air of shame if you do actually ask for more than the three super greasy, bitter, awful tasting chips you get with the meal even though I think they're thought is it's a great advertising draw to have a "bottomless" chips. No one asked how everything was, or even commented on the uneaten food when they were clearing the plates. We both had very upset stomachs, full cramping, and discomfort all night! After choking down the little we did we got this huge bill. Even if the food was edible, the amount given, along with the dinning experience, service, and painful night, it was way overpriced.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was good and service fast and pleasant. It was packed on a Monday evening so there is obviously a dearth of decent fish restaurants in Exeter. But I couldn't help thinking I'd had fish and chip meals in ordinary chippies just as good but much cheaper. Perhaps if we had tried more unusual dishes, not available elsewhere, I might have been more impressed.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We treated our very close friends to dinner for their 35th wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed. The food was amazing, the staff were really friendly and welcoming. The restaurant had a really great atmosphere and very relaxing feel as soon as we arrived. Will most definitely be coming back to visit again. We all absolutely loved it!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leabs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So fresh and beautifully cooked - highly recommended. Some unusual fish on the menu as well as some well known classics - all cooked to perfection - we will definitely be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BodyFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend visited this restaurant on Saturday. Beautiful location, but unfortunately not that great restaurant! I ordered prawns and she ordered plaice. Prawns are 20 pounds. You get small bunch of prawns with some chips. We ordered a Greek salad with our mains but it never arrived. On the menu says you get unlimited chips. So we asked for some more chips as the initial portion is small, but we never got it! You know what? Just go to Sainsbury's, get yourself frozen king prawns, a bag of chips and cook at home! Believe me you will do a much better food! Don't get me wrong! I really don't mind paying, but that restaurant is way too overpriced for what you get! And they definitely need to go to countries like Portugal, Spain and learn how to cook seafood properly!! On the bill they put something towards charity! Which good cause but please don't do this when someone is going out to have a great time!! Anyway, bad experience, not that great food! Pass...

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank robertogV8111UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockfish Exeter Quay also viewed

 

Been to Rockfish Exeter Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing