We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Enough, Good Location for City Centre”
Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just a one night stop, but a good hotel near the City Centre just a 5 minute walk to the High Street.
The hotel was clean and modern with a quiet room to the rear although it's impossible to close the doors to the rooms quietly.
The temperature of the shower in room 525 also fluctuated a bit.
Breakfast was varied with the option of special orders but the seating was minimal with some guests having to sit in the bar area. The space around the buffet was also very compact with people bumping into one another. Jury need to look at modifying these facilities.
On the whole a good hotel if you can book at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, it'll only look at the car park but better than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,547 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is very much a business hotel with a central location used by large groups at weekends, so don't expect restful sleep on a Saturday night when they are all returning to their rooms. The bedroom doors do not shut quietly. The rooms are clean and the showers great. Car parking is £7 for 24 hours in the ncp carpark opposite, Breakfast was ok but dont get a costa coffee to take away, its horrid. One complaint is the cost of the Internet, £5 an hour!!!!! Come on cant this be reduced at the weekend? Overall comfortable central location in Exeter ok for one night.

Room Tip: Room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed for three nights recently (stranded on account of the bad weather). This is a nice hotel within very easy reach of the city centre of Exeter. The rooms are comfortable, the beds comfy and the showers excellent (as has been commented on here already).

The reason I am only giving this hotel three stars is:
(a) the staff - I am not sure if the hotel was busy, but staff seemed to give relatively short schrift. There was a young bar man in particular who seemed to disapprove of me every time I ordered a beer! The reception staff were also slow to communicate messages from the airline and to let us know what was happening with our travel plans.
(b) The wireless. To charge £5 an hour or £10 for 24 hours is extortionate. If Jurys are trying to attract regular business users, this is something they need to seriously re-evaluate. While most people may be reimbursed without consideration, £30 for three days access is not giving the right impression
(c) the restaurant. While the food was pleasant, well-cooked and perfectly acceptable, the evening menu is very limited. A little more attention and creativity here would go down very well.

So while it was perfectly comfortable, there was nothing to make this hotel stand out in any way whatsoever. If they gave a little more thought to the above three areas, then this hotel could be much, much better.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank andyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean, tidy and walking distance to city centre. It's not a treat and it is favoured by hen parties / stag nights, but the hotel keep them to first floor and put grown ups on third floor, which works. It is a functional hotel although basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilliNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a good hotel which is in close proximity to both Exeter Cathedral and the city centre (about 10 minutes walk). There is also a Vue cinema directly over the road from the hotel. The check in was both quick and straightforward, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. The staff are friendly and efficient and no request went unanswered. The breakfast in the hotel is okay. Nothing great, they could do with some more staff in the mornings as the tables took a long time to be cleared. Any items not included in the buffet (poached eggs) took a long time to arrive. The WiFi in the hotel is extortionate! This should really be free and was quite off putting.

The bar advertises Costa coffee but this is best steered clear of as it is both expensive and tasteless!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a work trip and was very pleasantly surprised. Check in was fast and friendly and my room, on the second floor, was a decent size and very comfortable. Nothing fancy but I travel a lot with work and sometimes the rooms are all style over substance but this one was just basic but clean was a great base for the trip.

Bed was comfy, tv was easy to use and the bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels. My room was a tiny it noisy as it looked out onto a side street but it wasn't too bad.

Location was good, a short walk to the shops and there's a multi story car park across the road that you get a discount on as a guest in the hotel.

I only had a couple of negative points, the first being breakfast. It was just ok, nothing special. A few times things had run out and they weren't replenished for a while, particularly juice. Also the tables took ages to be cleared. I think more staff would definitely help here! The other negative was the price of wifi, I mean really? This should be free to all paying guests and it really puts me off a hotel if I'm expected to pay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_Gal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very enjoyable. Stayed for two nights.

Staff all very helpful and friendly, felt nothing was too much trouble.

Room on fourth flour (there are lifts so don't worry about your luggage), nice size, very clean and tidy, shower was excellent.

Had three course dinner on the first evening in the restaurant, excellently cooked and decent size portions, plus it was piping hot.

Breakfast was buffet style with good choice and was replenished at regular intervals.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Only downside was price of wifi so we did without.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Penlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCEXI, General Manager at Jurys Inn Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your comments which are very encouraging. We will of course share your feedback with the team in the hotel and escalte your wifi comments to our head office.

Thank you once again for choosing Jurys Inn and we hope to welcome you back to Exeter in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bríd Cloonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,359 reviews
4.7 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: $67 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city, within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James' Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter, all conveniently accessible from the hotel. Jurys Inn Exeter features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing