We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Exeter
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Whilst attending a large conference at the hotel I stayed for one night. As part of the conference, I got a special price that was reasonable.

The hotel struck me as very clean and well maintained. It did not have its own parking, but you got a discount at a public car park that was just across the road. The hotel was located close to the city centre.

The breakfast and lunch that I had at the hotel were good and well organised.

I got free wireless internet from participating in the conference, and the signal was good in my room. There was also a wired option, but that seemed quite expensive.

The staff were fine, not exceptional, and at times a little disorganised, the member of staff at breakfast seemed very confused for some reason. Paying for my parking also seemed to take them by surprise, something to do with having previously checked out.

My room was small but adequate. The bathroom had no bath, just a shower, but it did seem well maintained. I found my room to be extremely warm, this was a chilly March evening, but if I opened the window, the noise from cars, people and the zebra crossing would have prevented any sleep. To compound the problem a baby in the next-door room was also having troubles sleeping.

If this review sounds negative it is not meant to be, overall I would say the hotel is clean and well run. With hindsight, I would have gone for a room towards the top of the hotel, away from some of the noise of the city centre.

Room Tip: Get up high to minimise the noise of the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    614
    285
    63
    43
See reviews for
339
441
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Jurys Exeter is a typical recently built hotel. A somewhat formulaic set up but done well enough. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The cost was quite reasonable. We were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Jurys met our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thing about the Jury's Inn is that it does everything just well enough.

The rooms are OK, the location is OK, the staff are good, but you are not staying there because it is the Jury's Inn. You are staying there because of the price.

Personally, if I were booking enough in advance, I'd take advantage of the fact advance bookings at the Mercure Southgate are only a little bit more expensive, as it's five minutes closer to the centre and a nicer hotel.

But, outside of the no-cancel advance booking option, I'd go to the Jury's Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashmanandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stay here whenever I am on business in Exeter and am appalled at the £4.00 tray charge whenever you order room service. I would be happy to pay it if the money or a percentage of it goes to the staff, but I was informed by team members that they do not receive a penny and that it goes to the company. By adding a tray charge it deters customers (including me) from leaving a tip, which is essential in supplementing the wages of the staff who work at the hotel. I am sure the hotel General Manager will say that the tray charge is to deter customers from ringing down and ordering an ice bucket or a knife and fork, to then consume their own food and beverages in the room, but at least reward the staff who are doing the work!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was ok for what we needed. Rooms and communal areas very clean. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Rooms where basic but that’s what we expected for the price we paid. We would stay here again if we needed a budget crash pad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaCrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise after a very long day at work. Knowing that I had an early start the next day I booked the Jurys Inn for its central location and easy access parking. Both ideal. The hotel seamed fresh and new and my room was very clean, comfortable and with all amenities. It was also nice and quiet, always a plus when away on business. On the downside my evening meal (room service) was poor. The fish starter was inedible and the sauce on my steak felt synthetic. The staff were very friendly and check in and out was nice and quick. All in all a good business hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second trip to this new modern hotel and on both occasions it did what it was supposed to do, provide a good nights sleep in a central city location.
The rates for this hotel are reasonable and the breakfast is very good although on this visit it was charged extra. One tip on this point is the breakfast is cheaper if you book it on check in rather than when you arrive at the dining room. This hotel does not have a car park but there is plenty of parking nearby. We arrived by train to St David's station and the taxi fare was less than £5.
One irritatiing point is Jury's insistence on charging for WiFi. This service is not exactly expensive to provide and is essential to me to keep tabs on my business so rather than spend time in Jury's own bar and paying for their Wifi I went elsewhere where the service was free and spent my money elsewhere on beer and food.
I will return and hopefully Jury's will think again about this penny pinching policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YesChefThanksChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Property: Jurys Inn Exeter
Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city, within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James' Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter, all conveniently accessible from the hotel. Jurys Inn Exeter features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing