We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giraffe - Exeter

Giraffe - Exeter
Ranked #92 of 514 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $1 - $62
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Freshly cooked food for everyone served to the sound of great music - guaranteed to make you feel good!
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was a little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Have eaten there before and had a good experience but whether they were short-staffed?? Perfectly nice waiting staff but slow. Had to wait quite a while for food. We had asked for sharing nachos to come with the main meal checking first that the timing wouldnt be an issue. Having been assured it wouldnt we went ahead. When the food arrived the nachos were burnt, some time back, as they were also soggy, so they went back. Decided that we wouldnt have a replacement. The falafel burgers were OK but not great. Very nice home-made lemonade which went down well on a hot day!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Whymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    102
    52
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent for Kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently visited Giraffe in Exeter. Nice food, great range of choices. Service really good and went out of the way to cheer up an upset 5 year old!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martin7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by accident just walking down a side street. We went there for morning coffee, which was the best coffee I've had in a long time, it was such a lovely place and the staff were so friendly we went back for lunch. The salads were very fresh and tasty. Will definitely eat here again when we are in the area. A real gem

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced junk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friend and I ate brunch at this branch on Saturday morning and all was well and good until his food arrived. We ordered a breakfast burrito along with the 'full brunch plate'. Unfortunately, the full brunch plate did not live up to its name or description. The portion was incredibly scarce. There were no more than 10 baked beans on the plate, and there was one, single potato wedge. Quite a comical portion for £8.50! It looked nothing like the image on the menu or what one would expect for that sort of money. Imagine the sort of portion you would get at a local cafe for no more than £5, and halve it. That is what it was, literally.

The burrito was not particularly good either, the whole idea just didn't work well, though it is what I ordered so that isn't their fault. It was largely tasteless, though.

It may look fancy from the exterior and appear to be a great place to sit outside in the summer , but it is ultimately awful in every other sense. Would not recommend, stick to independent places -- Exeter has them in abundance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilLudgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quality food with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for an impromptu lunch and were really pleased with the food and service. The chicken salad was amazing and my partners falafel burger was equally good. Service was friendly and fast. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe - Exeter also viewed

 
Exeter, Devon
 

Been to Giraffe - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing