We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back again!”
Review of Harry's Grill Bar - CLOSED

Harry's Grill Bar
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In an unassuming red brick building on Northernhay Place you'll find Harry's Grill Bar. Head inside and you'll find a hugely stylish little spot with exposed barn-like beams and funky red walls. Pull up a seat or slide in to one of the massive high backed booths and enjoy the laid back atmosphere. Once you've soaked in the vibes you'll be ready to turn your attentions to a menu that requires your full concentrations...Totally local produce with an emphasis on gorgeous Devon reared beef. Other options are available, from fish to veggie dishes but the meat eaters among you won't be able to resist cooked to order steaks steaming hot from the grill.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked for our anniversary, we asked for the most secluded spot as it was just the two of us and they put us in a lovely corner. Lovely welcome from staff when we arrived and we had a cocktail downstairs. We were then shown to our table and our order taken. We had complimentary home made bread whilst waiting for our starter which was really yummie. We had scollops for starters which were fresh and cooked perfectly! Next we had rib eye steak also cooked perfectly with chips, tomato & water cress. We ordered extra mushrooms which were in like a sweet soy... Beautiful! And the best onion rings I have ever had! Light, crispy & large. Staff were very tentative, asking if we needed anything else and was everything ok for us. The restaurant was at full capacity and still the waiting time between courses was perfect! It really was a lovely evening...ignore any reviews from others about staff not understanding them..yes some of the staff are foreign but we had no problems at all. Toilets were clean, lovely decor & comfortable searing. If I had to complain about anything it would be the salt grinder. The flakes were too large and it made my chips too salty so next time I just won't have salt...it's all tasty enough without it anyway. Can't comment on the deserts as we were too full! Thank you Harrys Grill Bar and all your hard working staff!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ljz1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

WOW! thank you very much, it’s always lovely to hear great things about us; we are very happy that you enjoyed your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Harry's Grill Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 235 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

When we booked the table (by phone), we were advised that the bar opened at 5pm and we could have a drink before eating. We arrived at 5:10 to be told the bar wasnt open yet but that we could sit down and wait. Not the best start but eventually we were offered a drink. We ordered cocktails which were very good.
At six we were shown our table and being told in no uncertain terms that we must finish by 8pm not great. We ordered some more cocktails, one of which we didnt order and when we raised this with the waiter he did not respond well and we decided to accept the cocktail we did not order as well as getting a replacement.
Food - starters of scallops, pea puree and bacon. Whilst almost a bit of a retro combination these days it usually delivers. However on this occassion the scallops were far from fresh.
We ordered more drinks, a pint of ashai and a glass of rose except the waitress brought a glass of red!!
Main courses - my wife had the fillet steak with peppercorn sauce and I went for the Porterhouse with stilton butter. We both agreed the steaks were possibly the best we had ever eaten.
At 7:50 we ordered more cocktails to take downstairs to the bar and paid the bill at the table.
Whilst finishing our cocktails we discussed the excellent steaks and cocktails, agreeing the quality made up for the poor service. Besides it would be unfair to condemn the service on a single visit, right? We left the restaurant to catch our train home and were then chased down by one of the waitresses asking if we had paid our bill !?!?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. What a shame you did not experience our customary good service, thrilled that you enjoyed the steaks and cocktails though. As you kindly say yourselves it would be ‘unfair to condemn us on a single visit’, to this end perhaps you could e mail magda@harrysgrillbar.co.uk so we can respond in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a great meal at Harry's last night for my boyfriend's birthday. Started with cocktails downstairs. The barman was happy to mix a cocktail which wasn't on the menu.

Both steaks (one on the bone sirloin very rare and one rib eye medium rare) were cooked to perfection and served with delicious crispy fries. We couldn't manage dessert, although they looked very tempting!

The service was excellent. The waiter was friendly and offered advice when I couldn't decide which steak to order.

Lovely wine, lovely friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Uktwinstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you very much, it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

funky, bar decor, staff polite, service good. crab salad- more potato than crab but nicely presented. wilted, tired cress. steak- bit young, chips dreadful, the same cress reappeared- tired and looking sorry for herself. not in a hurry to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback we have passed your comments on to our chef. We are always working to improve our customers experience and match their expectations so it really does help our development to gain an insight from our customer’s point of view. We would really like a chance to impress you, please do email magda@harrysgrillbar.co.uk as it would be really nice to respond to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is one of our favourite places in Exeter to eat but after our visit tonight we were very disappointed. The food itself was as usual excellent but the service poor. We found it very hard to make the waitress understand what we wanted. Also the coffee was a long time coming. How long can it take to make three coffees? We will be back as we love the food but please better service next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for letting us know, we are always interested in feedback from customers. We are thrilled that you enjoy visiting Harrys Grill Bar and we are very disappointing and sorry to discover that the service on this occasion was not usual standard. Perhaps you wouldn’t mind dropping us an email (magda@harrysgrillbar.co.uk), as it would be really nice to have the chance to investigate your comments further and respond to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Grill Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing