We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”

Conservatory Restaurant - Exeter
Ranked #7 of 526 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: For a taste of the Mediterranean without leaving the West Country look no further than Exeter’s The Conservatory. With huge windows obscured by white blinds, tall exotic plants and Swedish-meets-French countryside painted furniture you almost feel it would be a shame to call in after sunset. But come in for dinner and you’ll find yourself in an intimate and romantic setting perfect for that relaxed dinner to help you forget about bills, work and worries. Sail away on a culinary cruise through Europe as the menu takes you from Britain via France and in to Italy and beyond with plenty of local ingredients to keep the flavours fresh and delicious.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Not been here for quite a while and used to come for dinner but decided to have lunch when in Exeter as seen reviews on T.A.

It is a little off the beaten track of the main shopping rush (but not that far) and as a result it was less frenetic and an excellent choice for a leisurely lunch. Reasonably priced food and wine but all really good.

I had the terrine followed by belly pork and no complaints at all other than my wife had the slow cooked beef which was so delicious I wish I had chosen it as well. Had the malbec wine and that was also very good.

Will certainly re-visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    100
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Dinned here on the 27th Oct with my husband and two friends and we all loved it. We have not been here for a couple of years but will not leave it so long again. The food was well cooked and plenty of it. The house wine was also excellent . We eat out in Exeter most Saturday evenings and this will now go down as one of our favourites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Memorable Meal”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant, and what a great experience it proved to be. We both chose different items for all 3 courses and everything was beautifully cooked and presented. On a busy night it was impressive to see they maintained the standard and all the customers appeared happy. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient, and the pace at which the meal was served was just right.

Will definitely return when next in Exeter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful food - perfect for a special occasion”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My work colleagues and I recently ate at the conservatory in Exeter and the food was amazing. I really recommend the sea bass and lavender Crème brûlée a beautiful combination. This restaurant is perfect for a special occasion, as its quite expensive if you are on a budget. A hidden gem and a must if you are a foodie. Lovely - I wouldn't hesitate to return and really recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurynMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a meal last Friday evening. It's a lovely cosy restaurant. Very good service. The food is amazing. The conservatory is by far my favourite restaurant. Definitely recommend for any occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapmanwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conservatory Restaurant - Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Conservatory Restaurant - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing