We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fantastic”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #11 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thank you for making our anniversary so special...
I had the crumbed squid & my husband had the rabbit terrine for starters followed by the the bake hake & rump of lamb with crime brûlée to finish... All dishes were fantastic, service was excellent. We were recommended by friends who had their first experience following a chiefs match a few weeks ago who now make the journey to eat regularly here...
We will definitely be back. Fantastic food

Room Tip: We did not stay but will do in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Congratulations ! We were delighted to be part of your anniversary celebration . Our chef creates delicious dishes showcasing all that is great in local produce . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I ate at the Ball several months back and the food was nothing short from vile, I vowed I'd never go back there; however a mate talked me into going back this week. Firstly I was eased to see the menu had changed and some real delights on the specials & special it was indeed, I'm not sure what you have done but the food has gone from inadequate to simply woooowzers. Defo one if the best in the area and I'll be back soon to sample more of what looks like a delightfully, tantalisingly menu. What ever you have done to turn it around you've done it well ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DevonHockeysticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for giving us another chance. We are delighted you enjoyed the efforts of our new chef and his team. It is our intention to make The Blue Ball top of everyone's list when choosing somewhere to eat in the area .
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Took advantage of location to stay overnight for early flight from Exter airport. Airport is only a couple of minutes drive away.

Unfortunately, could not arrive before 11.30pm due to prior event. Hotel (Alan) very helpful and offered to wait around for arrival. Asked at bar if anything to eat, just a hope as did not expect even a sandwich would be avaiable so late. Suggested I settle into room and hot meal would be ready in 10 minutes! We were served with lovely chilli, rice, natchos and dips. Very welcome.

Room fine for short stay, 4 rooms in total I think and rooms 2 and 3 do not have widow to look out of, their windows are skylights. Not a problem unless you are on holiday. Room 1 does have window looking onto road.

Pub/rooms are ideally placed for Exter Chiefs matches as well, just a short walk over the bridge to ground. A good place to park, eat and return to for drinks after - even if not staying overnight.

Rooms clean and well maintained with parking right outside. Country location so peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the The Blue Ball has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back even when The Chiefs are not playing !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night after watching Exeter Chiefs beat Worcester Warriors, there were six of us staying in 3 rooms, we were very impressed with the rooms, tea/coffee provided, really clean, lovely en suites with powerful showers. We didn't eat in the restaurant but asked for some take away and that was not a problem. Our only gripe was we thought the price of breakfast should have been included in the price of the room and not extra.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Ball. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
With regard to breakfast we feel that we offer an exceptional room only rate which being in handy proximity to the motorway and airport means we offer breakfast as an optional extra which many of our guests who require a pre breakfast start welcome. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Dropped in as live 10 minutes around the corner. Was 8pm on a Sat eve and the bar area was half empty. Shown to a table and ordered drinks which came quite quickly.

After that the service was slow and the wait between starter and main was so long I was getting to the point of leaving. My fish and Chips were ok. Cold plate and the food was just about warm.

The bar was cold and bland music playing and no atmosphere whatsoever.

In the whole place were only about 6 couples and one table of 4. I heard the table of 4 saying their food wasn't that good so we weren't alone.

How the service could be SO slow when the place was empty I have no idea. We left about 9.30 to 9.45 and we were the last to leave.

Will I go back there again. No thanks, was bland, lifeless and not enjoyable. Wish we had just driven that extra 10 minutes and gone to The Diggers Rest in Woodbury Salterton - far far superior.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I am sorry that on this occasions we did not meet either your expectation or an acceptable standard .With our new chef now firmly in place hopefully as you live so locally you will give us another opportunity. We will not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked for a family lunch to celebrate our Mothers birthday. We all got our drinks from the bar and was seated in the back part of the resturant along with another party of 14-16? Very cramped and could bearly get between the tables to be seated. We then waited 25 minutes for a staff member to even come to the table to take order. Limted menu on a Sunday and the Roast choice did not inclued a Chicken or Turkey (white meat) very disapointing. The meal came at least 20 mins later and at various stages hence meals getting cold while we waited for everyone to be served.Pork loin was not lean as advised and the Lamb was rare to medium, not consitant portions. One plus point Cheese board very good but not standard on the Sunday lunch menu as think it should be. Overall not a good meal and will not be going there again for a large gathering even though we are local.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Ball. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with both the food and level of service you received on that day. I can only apologise and offer by way of explanation that we were for a period, including that day, without a Head Chef. I hope that goes some way to explain the situation regarding the food and can assure you that with the arrival of our new Head Chef last Monday we will endevour to meet everyones expectations. With regard to the level of service our staff are often faced with a busy shift and whilst you did book many others do not, making staffing levels tricky. I do hope you come back to sample our new menu and we have taken on board your comment regarding white meat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great pub with good parking.
Great food and reasonable prices.
Brilliant friendly staff who went the extra mile.
Excellent accommodation, washroom clean and well presented, comfy bed, working tv.
Highly recommend this if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bstard4PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,387 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
973 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#15 of 68 in Exeter
72 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Exeter
Blue Ball Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing