We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really lovely rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #15 of 75 Exeter B&B and Inns
Bude, Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really lovely rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night after watching Exeter Chiefs beat Worcester Warriors, there were six of us staying in 3 rooms, we were very impressed with the rooms, tea/coffee provided, really clean, lovely en suites with powerful showers. We didn't eat in the restaurant but asked for some take away and that was not a problem. Our only gripe was we thought the price of breakfast should have been included in the price of the room and not extra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Ball. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
With regard to breakfast we feel that we offer an exceptional room only rate which being in handy proximity to the motorway and airport means we offer breakfast as an optional extra which many of our guests who require a pre breakfast start welcome. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
60
57
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in as live 10 minutes around the corner. Was 8pm on a Sat eve and the bar area was half empty. Shown to a table and ordered drinks which came quite quickly.

After that the service was slow and the wait between starter and main was so long I was getting to the point of leaving. My fish and Chips were ok. Cold plate and the food was just about warm.

The bar was cold and bland music playing and no atmosphere whatsoever.

In the whole place were only about 6 couples and one table of 4. I heard the table of 4 saying their food wasn't that good so we weren't alone.

How the service could be SO slow when the place was empty I have no idea. We left about 9.30 to 9.45 and we were the last to leave.

Will I go back there again. No thanks, was bland, lifeless and not enjoyable. Wish we had just driven that extra 10 minutes and gone to The Diggers Rest in Woodbury Salterton - far far superior.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michaeldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I am sorry that on this occasions we did not meet either your expectation or an acceptable standard .With our new chef now firmly in place hopefully as you live so locally you will give us another opportunity. We will not disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked for a family lunch to celebrate our Mothers birthday. We all got our drinks from the bar and was seated in the back part of the resturant along with another party of 14-16? Very cramped and could bearly get between the tables to be seated. We then waited 25 minutes for a staff member to even come to the table to take order. Limted menu on a Sunday and the Roast choice did not inclued a Chicken or Turkey (white meat) very disapointing. The meal came at least 20 mins later and at various stages hence meals getting cold while we waited for everyone to be served.Pork loin was not lean as advised and the Lamb was rare to medium, not consitant portions. One plus point Cheese board very good but not standard on the Sunday lunch menu as think it should be. Overall not a good meal and will not be going there again for a large gathering even though we are local.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Ball. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with both the food and level of service you received on that day. I can only apologise and offer by way of explanation that we were for a period, including that day, without a Head Chef. I hope that goes some way to explain the situation regarding the food and can assure you that with the arrival of our new Head Chef last Monday we will endevour to meet everyones expectations. With regard to the level of service our staff are often faced with a busy shift and whilst you did book many others do not, making staffing levels tricky. I do hope you come back to sample our new menu and we have taken on board your comment regarding white meat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great pub with good parking.
Great food and reasonable prices.
Brilliant friendly staff who went the extra mile.
Excellent accommodation, washroom clean and well presented, comfy bed, working tv.
Highly recommend this if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bstard4PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a very lovely meal here tonight. The food was excellent! Wish I could have bought the chutney in a jar!! Great service and friendly staff! Was even informed that Gary Newman is older than Gary Oldman!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeffi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
So pleased we were able to help with the Gary trivia and you are right the chutney is delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille, france
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

we hadn't been to the blue ball for about 2 years as we came then with friends, food was terrible and service was poor.

We came and watched the Cardiff blues game against the chiefs, the pub was heaving yet we were quickly and politely served by a female member of staff. We didn't have time to eat but we returned after the game and although they were extremely busy they found the 4 of us a table and our order was taken quickly. there was a reasonable wait for the food but it was worth the wait. The 4 of us chose different options and they were all clearly made fresh and just as good as each other.

I would definitely recommend this pub to anyone, even on a rugby day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back - not just for rugby !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We traveled down from Bristol as a group of four to watch the Exeter Chiefs. The location of the pub is perfect for watching the rugby at Sandy Park. We booked our rooms and lunch in advance over the phone and spoke to a very polite man. Upon arrival we checked in to our rooms which were very clean and tidy- it was everything we wanted and very affordable. Lunch was great, the food was very high quality with local ingredients. We had to wait a short amount of time for our main courses as the kitchen was very busy, but it was worth the wait. The staff were young and enthusiastic- wanting us to enjoy our stay as much as possible. Overall a great visit and I would recommend both the pub and accommodation to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David123244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. As you quite rightly pointed out our location is ideal and we are able to offer traditional Inn benefits without being hard to find. See you again we hope when you are next in this neck of the woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Exeter
Blue Ball Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing