We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly warm service dire food”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #11 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“friendly warm service dire food”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The service was very good warm and friendly and eager to serve.Sadly I can not say the same about the food. I had the chilli with accompaniments the guacamole was dark green and tasted awful, the sour cram was not good and the chilli itself did not have a good flavour. The presentation was good but sadly the taste was missing.
My friend who is a vegetarian had a triple baked cheese avocado with tomato sauce which was served with seasonal vegetables, it was also not good.
Such a same that the food was so poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessEXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    75
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
76
61
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is just a review on the food / restaurant so please take it as such.
Recently had lunch here with friends and was really pleased with everything. Good extensive menu, friendly attentive staff and when the food did arrive it was top notch. Very busy at lunchtime with lots of office staff etc but that made for a good atmosphere. Despite the numbers we were served quickly and efficiently. We will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Visited this venue with a group of friends and stayed in the accommodation block consisting of three separate self contained units.
These were immaculately clean and provided all that was required. The shower was terrific.
Had meals and breakfasts at the pub and found these to be excellent.
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and we fully intend to return here when we are next in the locality.

Room Tip: The room next to the road would be the one to avoid although the traffic is not that heavy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Having known this pub for 20 years we were pleased to hear it was under new management from early November. We gave them a few weeks to settle in and make changes to the previous menu which had put us off for a long time, then went for a Sunday roast a few weeks ago. It was superbly cooked and the new managers were extremely smooth in their service - giving every customer who entered the pub a warm and genuine welcome. The bar staff are still the same and the pub is rebuilding the wonderful atmosphere and reputation that I had known it to have years ago. We've since taken out neighbours for a meal and we were all impressed. The gammon steak was thick and so well cooked that a steak knife wasn't needed. The chilli had a well judged 'kick' to it. The ale pie vanished within minutes and the Ruldolph burger (!) didn't take long to disappear either!
We said to ourselves after our last 2 visits we should review the pub on here but got tied up with daily life as you do!
However, we returned today and had pre booked a 2 course Christmas Menu - £14.95 each and had the best roast meals I've had for a long time. The beef was crumbly and melted in the mouth, the (huge) portion of mixed vegetables were freshly prepared and cooked to perfection and I won't be mean and tease you about the deserts but they were fantastic! (We were touched at the generosity of the manager when he brought out a portion of Christmas pudding as an extra for us to try as we'd struggled to choose between deserts!
We haven't stayed at the pub as we live locally but we are sure to become regular visitors as we are delighted to have found such a warm and cosy pub (loving the log fire!) so close to home. Roll on Christmas carols and mulled wine in a few weeks time.
Good old fashioned standards of excellent customer service with a balanced and well priced menu of modern and traditional foods. (We were pleased to meet the chef today as well and to be able to pass on our compliments) The only dilemma now...what we will have next weekend?!
Ps - we did check out their website but it is a little out of date - they are on to it! In the meantime I'd glad we took the plunge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopher35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Been coming in very long time.
Pub seemed to be finally looking up after long time being poor. but has gone back to being poor again. Cant comment on room as haven't stayed in. Food not as good as used to be..... service quite frankly AWFUL. Took ages to get served, had to go to the bar to order as bar man was on his mobile phone, when he realised I had caught him, was far too in my face and generally really patronising. Only 3 other people in the pub, yet took 35 minutes for food to come out.....

really disappointed, but live in Topsham so will just go to places there. Like The Lighter Inn...much better.

Needs to be changed hands again...clearly. OR words need to be had with staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Cant comment on the rooms but resturant is the worst service I have ever had. We got served our food after other people who orderd theres 15 mins after ours. No steak knife with steak got offerd comementry drinks never got them !!! Cold food got offerd veg that never turned up And we live around the corner will mever be going back there try the beefeater at countess wear or lots of nice places in topsham.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Ball Inn for 1 night after a week in Cornwall, we chose the Blue Ball Inn as it was close to Exeter airport. The rooms were a converted stable block, very clean and comfortable. The Inn was very welcoming,the food was good and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
I would recommend this for the convenient location near to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.1 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Exeter
Blue Ball Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing