We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Fat Pig Freehousej
Ranked #49 of 611 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

What a difference a year makes. Last year great food and full. This year empty no ribs or scotch eggs on the menu. No specials board. New chef apparently. Manager offered to do us a deal on the food but we declined disappointing menu. Went for steak night in the Wetherspoons instead.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 418 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

The bar man was rude and not interested to talk and welcoming, only food option at 2 o’clock on Sunday lunch was Roast Chicken !!! Far from roast chicken, not sure which part of chicken!!!....guessing chewed by a dog.
Wouldn’t recommend and not going back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 766roseflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

What a great pub with quality products, just such a shame about the service. After ordering a beer from from a chap who thought it was your previlidge to to served by him you take a seat. The we took a seat amongst a tide of reserved tables where chalk pen elegantly scrolled across the center of the wooden period table depicted the time from which they were reserved. Choosing a table which allowed us a good 90 minute of relaxation to enjoy a beer. We sat and enjoyed our quality beers. With 20 minutes to spare we were approached stating that the table was reserved and the customers reserving the table had arrived early. We were asked if we having another drink which we were not, the early customers were then sat on the adjacent table, being loudly advised that we were on their table..making us feel unwelcome and we speedily finish our drinks. In the meantime the waiting on lady found the need to wipe their reservation name from our table while we sat there... Such a shame as there were so many empty tables nearby...... If you appreciate great beer and dreadful service it's the place for you.. We definitely not be back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

This place is not the easiest to find but it's a great find. It's a traditional style pub yet has a fresh and light interior with quirky art on the walls. We were met by a very cheerful chap behind the bar and there was a great selection of beers, wines and ciders. However, the star of the show is the food. It was a succinct menu on Saturday lunchtime but what we chose was so very delicious. The smoked duck brioche bun with soy peanut slaw was a perfect marriage of flavours - my teenage son said it was probably the best thing he has ever eaten. His Dad has been awarded a michelin star so high praise. The black pudding, smoked ham hock and bubble and squeak was comfort food at its best. When I return to Exeter it will be the first place I visit!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 1973ClareP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

An evening with friends to compare and contrast 6 or 7 whiskies with food at the halfway point of the evening.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank edlserna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Pig Freehousej also viewed

 

Been to The Fat Pig Freehousej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing