We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good prices”
Review of On The Waterfront

On The Waterfront
Ranked #33 of 524 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Went for a family meal and it was quiet at 5pm. Pizza was huge and very good. Cheesecake was so so. Everyone enjoyed though

Helpful?
Thank GaryMcCExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDInns, Guest Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your pizzas! We have a whole new desserts menu now so I hope next time you visit you'll find something delicious on our sweet selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    357
    116
    74
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited last night with a group of friends, 8 of us and we were late ordering - thank you! Everyone enjoyed their meals, staff were good and reasonably priced bill, around £20 per head with main courses and a couple of drinks each.

Helpful?
Thank appelbymerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDInns, Guest Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Sounds like it was ideal for you and your party. We look forward to seeing you again this season. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick lunch!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Exeter and we were inaccurately informed that there were lots of places to eat on the Quay! Restaurant wasn't open and although the bar area looked fine, it was pretty chilly! Despite being quiet, service was fairly slow ( wouldn't have minded had it been warmer!). My daughter enjoyed her fish finger sandwich. We had a vegetarian sharing dish as we didn't want a large meal. It was nice but some items would be better served warm. Maybe best as an evening venue as the restaurant looked lovely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDInns, Guest Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. Since January we have enhanced our Vegetarian Platters, and if your in the area again I'd definitely recommend booking a table in our Boat Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pizza menu is creative and delicious”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visited this place after it being recommended and it was a nice meal but customer service could be improved.
We both had the calamari rings for starters and this is a large portion. We the shared a pizza and a burger between us for main course and these were tasty and the accompanying sauces were especially delicious.
The pizza menu is superb and you will definitely find something you like on here if not two or three as the combinations are unique and everything sounds good!
I would not rate the staff whatsoever as none of them cracked a smile the whole time we were there and showed no enthusiasm at all whilst serving us.
I would eat here again but probably just a quick lunch and really don't expect any interaction with the staff whilst being served just concentrate on the food and good conversation with your date!
Oh nearly forgot to mention we left a little disappointed as they had run out of hot chocolate!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stmoritzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDInns, Guest Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your meals! I'm sure if you return this season you will find a difference in our Customer Service, but we are glad this didn't affect your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special place for a special day!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Yesterday we went for lunch On he Waterfront for the first time. It was a family celebration and was perfect for us. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed which meant we were able to relax too. We had nachos, pizzas and some fab sharing puds all of which were super. It was not a busy time but service was great. We were able to relax, enjoy ourselves and have a memorable time to mark a special day. (Even when our youngest managed to break a glass on the slate floor we were not made to feel uncomfortable) Certainly a place for a return visit some time. :~)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HillFarmJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDInns, Guest Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It sounds like you and your family had a lovely time, and we all know how mischievous the little ones can be- a broken glass is a small price to pay for the knowledge you had memorable meal with your loved ones.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to On The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing