We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice of pizzas - interesting building!”
Review of On The Waterfront

On The Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 548 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited this interesting restaurant last night with our daughter who is a student at the Uni. Great choice of pizzas, either 12" or 16" to share - we had mushrooms with Stilton, chorizo & chicken and chicken, spring onion, sweetcorn etc. Loved the building down by the quay - really clever what they have done with the interior.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LSC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,113 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really good food, good value, cool location, right on the water, one of my favourite restaurants in Exeter. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontPR, General Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

this is the best place for a pizza, get a pizza fresh made of your choice with a beet or wine, sit outside if its a nice day & watch the people passing on the walk along the canal, see the swans & just relax a stone throw from the busy city of exeter. well worth a trip

Thank DevonJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontPR, Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Good Evening,

I am happy you enjoy your visits down to us. Just think it will be even better soon with the sunshine and warmth (fingers and toes crossed!!!).

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived to a grumpy waitress who had few people skills and was not polite at all. Once showed to our table we were then left for a long time before a waitress reappeared. The pizzas were ok, but lacked topping, big empty crust. We were then left with no sign of a waiter or waitress for ages. We were left without drinks and were ignored for over 40 minutes. Eventually I went to the bar to get water and the waitress was impolite and scowling. The service was so slow and the servers didn't seem to care about customers. The restaurant was very quiet, so it was not because they were over busy. The puddings were small and disappointing. Ice cream dessert was just one scoop. The bill was huge and it was definitely NOT worth it. Unless you have money to throw away don't other!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shoppy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontPR, General Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Good Evening,

I am so sorry about the service you received this is not what we aim to deliver!!
If you could get in contact via email i would love to arrange for you to come and experience the service and food we normally deliver to a high standard.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On the Waterfront is an ideally located restaurant and bar nestled in the hustle and bustle of Exeter's scenic quayside. That is however the only positive thing I have to say about On The Waterfront, a restaurant which rests on its laurels of being so well situated. The food is decidedly mediocre and overpriced considering. Shortly after eating here my stomach felt noticeably unsatisfied and I had to stop in the supermarket on the way home to find something extra to eat. I may drop in here again for a drink on sunny day, but will certainly overlook the food next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JamietheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to On The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing