We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Thornton Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lower Thornton Farm
Ranked #22 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been several times to Lower Thornton Farm B&B and the reason we keep going back is that it is in the middle of the country with all that that brings; quiet, calm, beautiful scenery and wildlife. Whilst you get all this at Lower Thornton you also get a modern built block with spotlessly clean rooms and impeccable service. The breakfast is everything you could hope for - full English, choice of cereals, jams etc.
I can't fault it - thanks to Mrs Clack who runs a very efficient B&B here.
It is a short drive to Exeter, close to Dartmoor and with ample parking but you definitely need a car to stay here if you mean to explore Devon.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both King Sized Ensuite and 4-poster Ensuite - both are excellent with patios and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIDGEONSTITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful, away from it all quiet location! We needed a late check-in on the Friday night and this was easily arranged by a quick call to the owner (the website we looked at is too vague on this point!) plus we saved a small amount of money by booking direct. Although credit card details were taken, the transaction wasn't done until we checked out on the Sunday. We opted for the Continental breakfast for the Saturday due to our late arrival and the fridge was stocked with choices of juice in jugs, eggs, yoghurt, bread, butter, jams. Tea and coffee plentiful, although I rarely travel without my Earl Grey tea! Sunday, we trotted up to the house for a cooked breakfast, although they would have brought it to us if we wanted but I was curious to see the house. Lovely dining room, very friendly with lots of choice of cereals etc in addition to the cooked breakfast. The Chicken Barn was very clean and tastefully decorated and accessorized. Good size towels with shower gel etc provided. It is incredibly quiet, no farm noise and somewhat disappointingly, no clucking or cock-a-doodling!
Tip - If you do arrive in the dark, when you drive onto the farm, you will need to descend straight ahead of you where you will see the open side of a big barn that has corrugated iron roof and sides. To the immediate left, is an open gate which you drive through with this big barn immediately on your right. At the end of this long barn, you will find the chicken barn (see photo).
My only regret, is that I didn't attempt to find out where an early morning group of deer went when they disappeared in to the woods by the barley field!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsChiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'm not sure what to say that hasn't already been said by everyone else - Lower Thornton Farm is just fantastic.

We ended up here in a last minute rush to find somewhere to spend the night near Exeter. I called Alison to confirm availability and we had a fabulous room even though she only had about 2 hours of warning before we arrived. We were very surprised by the size of the room and ensuite: these two rooms were about the size of our entire flat in London! The breakfast in the morning was filling and delicious, with different options if a full English isn't your thing.

Alison was so friendly and inviting, and I'm so glad she was able to accommodate us on such short notice. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Lower Thornton Farm to anyone and everyone. Thank you so much Alison!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emwm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a laterooms suggestion as we needed to have a one night stay to visit friends in Exeter before heading off to Butlins Minehead for a short break. Our sat nav managed to take us straight to the front door, even though it seems like the road to nowhere when you leave the main road. We arrived earlier than anticipated but were warmly greeted and shown our room. Afterwards we were offered tea and biscuits in the living room, which after driving for over 200 miles was well received by both of us. We were given our own key to our room and front door which meant we wouldn't disturb anyone on our return much later that evening/early morning! The room was perfect for us, shower and toilet en-suite, tea making facilities in the bedroom. The bed was perfect and we both slept well, albeit without covers as it was so hot.
Breakfast in the morning was a cooked breakfast (our host asking the day before if we had any special dietary requirements) Awesome value for money, a perfect place to stay, and will definitely be revisiting next year when we go back to Exeter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teejayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely B/B Alison is so
warm and friendly the cooked breakfast was excellent
and a lovely clean room with great views over the country side!
Would highly recommend this B/B...
Also the pub up the lane is around 1 1/4 miles away called the Ley Arms
The food was excellent and a good choice of ales and wine.
We were told the pub had just been taken over by new management who were
very welcoming too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

1 night stay thru hotels.com
gps led us thru 1 lane road for 1.5 miles, much easier if you make find closer road.
location -- vg but need gps.
attitude-- vg
breakfast--excellent
value--excellent
room size--large
clean ? yes
overall -- excellent

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelroc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room is nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The host made us all feel welcome with a cup of tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast is good a choice of continental and full English. Location is peaceful and rural, one mile of single track road may not be of everyone's liking. It suited as and next time we are in Exeter will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouF463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
5.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
6.8 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
625 reviews
3.0 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
135 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Bendene Townhouse
The Bendene Townhouse
#50 of 68 in Exeter
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Thornton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Thornton Farm

Address: Lower Thornton Farm EX6 7XH Mamhead Rd, Exeter EX6 7XH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lower Thornton Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lower Thornton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Thornton Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing