We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot.”
Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Rydon Farm.
Sally gave us a very warm welcome and we are looking forward to our next trip.
The farm is in a great location to get around and explore.
We went over the bank holiday weekend and went to some great places to eat.
When I made the booking Sally suggested I book the restaurants too, as they are so good they get booked up.All true.So glad we booked places on Sally's link.
Plenty of tracks for running before the full English!
Thank you for a happy,relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B747happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 518 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a lovely visit to Rydon Farm. It was great to stay on an actual working farm and the location was a perfect base for visiting Devon. We stayed in the Dart and the Clyst rooms and both were amazing. The breakfast was one of the best we have had and Sally made us feel so welcome.
When we go back to Devon we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C14REB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights in May and would happily recommend to anyone. Rooms are large, spotlessly clean and the owners can't do enough to for you. The breakfast is also delicious. We took a stroll into the village both nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildheart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sally has thought of everything to make staying at her B&B a lovely experience. We spent two nights at Rydon Farm over the period of Devon County Show (the showground is very close). Our room was immaculate and had everything we could possibly need. The bathroom appeared new and had a super, large shower, lovely toiletries and soft towels. Breakfast was excellent, with local meat and produce used and lovely homemade marmalade and jam. We would definitely stay at Rydon Farm again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyBobEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night ahead of flying from Exeter airport, but could easily have stayed longer. We were in the Exe room, which has a huge and impressive bathroom and a 4 poster bed. Breakfast was good, and the welcome warm. Watching the cows leaving the milking shed was a new and fascinating experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_ChrisBracknell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We used to stay at the excellent Rydon Farm B+B every May, when we went down to Devon to visit "Donkey Week" at the Sidmouth Donkey Sanctuary. We broke the habit due to serious illness 5 years ago and tried a few others in the area for a change. This year we went back to Rydon Farm again and what a surprise! As mentioned above, it used to be excellent, but now it is really superb. A lot of money has been spent on upgrading the rooms to a standard that you would be happy to find in most 5 star hotels. A warm and friendly welcome, excellent breakfast and faultless accommodation makes this a wonderful place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here having found it first on Tripadvisor. Great location, excellent breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms. If I were to be picky, the bath towels could do with being a bit bigger.

Very accommodating host.

Dog friendly at no extra cost.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdshaw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,152 reviews
6.5 mi away
Townhouse
Townhouse
#4 of 68 in Exeter
277 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#5 of 68 in Exeter
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $110 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing