We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Away”
Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Away”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We.have just had a very enjoyable weekend of relaxing and quality time thanks to the Sally and Phil and there fabulous farm. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left everything was superb. The warm welcome , the bedroom (The Exe) with the most wonderful four poster bed and a fabulous ensuite bathroom it was just all so beautifully clean and very homely and comfortable. We would definitely be going back to Rydon Farm . The breakfast was just outstanding it really does set you up for the day very tasty local produce .

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated so you wouldn't be disappointed with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetiepie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
212
46
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The owners of Rydon farm were very accommodating with my late arrival time and I was extremely pleasantly surprised with the standard and comfort of my room. Waking up and finding (very quiet!) dairy cows outside in the courtyard across from my room was also a real novelty!

Breakfast topped off the whole experience - will definitely stay again if I'm in the area and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroamingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rydon Farm is a lovely bed & breakfast in a great part of the country. Our room was well appointed with fittings, bedding and toiletries more akin to those one would expect in a good hotel. Sally was welcoming and helpful directing us to an excellent pub nearby (The Diggers Rest) for dinner. Breakfast at the farm will keep you going until tea time!

Given its proximity to CTCRM Lympstone I would particularly recommend it to families visiting for their son's King's Squad Pass Out or other such special occasions hosted by the Royal Marines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a really nice stay and would love to visit again. The food was great and I had a quiet stay.

I was allowed to check in early as I had a wedding to go to. The hostess, Sally was understanding and made an exception for me.

I highly recommend to any visitors to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked late on a Sunday looking for a peaceful and relaxing location for that evening for a short break away from it all. This was the perfect location, as situated outside a small village on a working farm. It is well placed for visiting Exeter or lots of other interesting places in East Devon. On arrival no issues with parking, as you literally park alongside the wall to the farmhouse and then a short walk to the reception area. The room was excellent and spotlessly clean. It was very comfortable and a nice mix of modern styling with the original features. Ensuite modern bathroom of a very generous size. Great breakfast in the morning using local produce and suppliers, which really helps set you up for the day. Excellent place to say and would recommend especially for those who want to get away from it all, but still be within a sensible driving distance of a major city if required. Free wifi for those who really cannot bear to escape the modern world totally, although never got round to using this as too busy just enjoying the time there.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a very comfortable four poster bed and excellent views of the cows waiting for / leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I with our 2 year old daughter spent another great weekend at Rydon Farm B&B we will be back again. We stayed in the dart room again as we love this room so much and it is big enough for a travel cot too without tripping over it. Bed is very comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities and bottle of water and sweets very well received along with a fantastic home cooked breakfast using local produce. The room is spotlessly clean and the view of the cows outside the bedroom window is great. Once again, we had a very good meal at Digger's Rest who are most accomodating with a two year old, but you need to book. We took the train from Exton to Exeter which is a great way of avoiding the stress of driving in city centre and parking costs. Lots of National Trust properties nearby to visit. Thanks once again to Sally

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Set in the heart of the Devonshire countryside surrounded by a friendly farming community and on the outskirts of a small village. . Very clean and spacious rooms with ensuite, finished to a standard. Welcoming and attentive staff provide a calm, 'homely' atmosphere that is ideal for a long weekend break for couples. Good quality breakfast with a wide selection of choices. Great value for money and well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
5.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
7.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Property: Rydon Farm
Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing